Introducing Petite Pointers: skinny jeans

I used to be petite all over, like in height and in the waist but since the kids, the height is the same but the waist, well, you can imagine, though it is a lot better than it was. Regretfully in my formative fashion years, there were no such things as a range for petites, we just had to manage as best we could. Since this was during the 80’s – Dallas, Power Suits, Money and Flaunting It – it was a Sartorial Hell. I can only say that now some 3 decades on because at the time, I knew no different in real life, except in the fashion history books and biographies of Coco Chanel.

Don’t get me wrong, there are many advantages such as when I’m shopping for vintage clothes, most of the time they fitted me perfectly including the shoes! Nowadays practically every high street retailer carries their own range for petites. The choice is huge but not big enough sometimes so I’m including a new category for ‘normal’  items I’ve come across that would suit petites. So this is the first item: skinny dark blue wash cropped jeans by Gap snapped up during the sale. They have a zip at the ankles and this is as tight as I’ll ever wear anything! I love it with my pull on tall black leather Bally boots. These are a surprise because I never thought I could wear tight jeans but have become a wardrobe staple for me.

Here they are when I first spotted them on Gap online shopping.

2 thoughts on “Introducing Petite Pointers: skinny jeans

Leave a Reply

