Petite Pointers: LBD, sleeveless and long sleeve

This is a really lovely black silk georgette dress. It’s fully lined, has a thin self tie belt with a navy blue double rosette on the shoulder and soft pleats at the neck. A touch of navy with the black is great and I’m a fan of the combination. The length actually hits my knees for both dresses (I never wear the length shown on the models).

  • I especially like the wide straps and the rosette detail in navy silk chiffon (my pet hate are thin straps that sit too far in)
  • The belt is removable so you add your own favourite – here I’ve used my vinatge Celine navy leather belt which happens to match the vintage thrifted top handle bag
  • The sleeveless style and the length work perfectly for petites
  • It has amazing versatility from a stylish beach cover to lunch date with girlfriends to cocktails after work depending on your accessories and whether you choose to add a cardigan, tailored jacket or a sparkly wrap

Here is another black and navy ensemble that I love – a classic little dress in silk satin by Chanel worn by Kirsten Dunst and it’s great how she casually drapes her black blazer over her shoulders. Her black belt, bag and shoes compliment her outfit perfectly.

This is a long sleeve version also in silk but with a touch of lycra for stretch, unlined. Another versatile shape.

  • I really like the stitching detail on the shoulders
  • As I don’t wear tight dresses, I deliberately ordered a larger size and knowing that because of the stretch, the dress will be cut a little smaller. I was right and decided to fix 2 problems that presented itself
  • The neckline gapes a little so will sew a little pleat there and the sleeves are too long but I will put in a button to fasten the cuffs so it becomes more of a shirt sleeve. Will show you the end reult!
4 thoughts on “Petite Pointers: LBD, sleeveless and long sleeve

  1. TheOnlineStylist

    Ah the joy of the LBD – I love the pic of your first one.. gorgeous. Am just now yearning for warmer weather so I can leave behind the jeans, boots and trousers! Love navy too.. but blue with the cold is not a good look on me! x

    Reply
    1. couturecoco Post author

      Thanks! This dress looks just as good if not better without the belt – hangs lovely and hides a multitude of sins in the midrift area. I’ve ordered another version with beading around the neckline.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

