Review: my sales haul

I had my eye on a khaki waisted cotton skirt with big patch pockets by Jaeger Boutique so was really happy to buy it in their online sale. I ordered my usual Jaeger size – find they are normally generous but the waist was so small I could only have buttoned it minus a couple of ribs. I bought things in 2 batches and when the first batch came, I was alerted by how small the other stuff might be but it was too late to change my 2nd order. But get this, there is no facility to log an exchange online while you are in the process of returning items. So you have to wait until they receive the item and look for a different size – no guarantees during sale times of course – and send it out to you again. Or you could buy the correct size online and wait for everything to be refunded. I mentioned the fact that it was very small in the waist and the Customer Service lady admitted many others had said the same about the entire Boutique line.

That’s the skirt on top of the pile in the box. It’s unlined and the material is yummy and thick so it should be useful until well into the Autumn with tights and boots. I ordered the navy version too because it was so lovely. The deep pleats give it a natural 50’s ‘pouff’ shape which is a little different for me.

I wanted a cotton summer dress as well that wasn’t too flimsy and floaty. This is lovely and a good fit (ordered one size bigger because I don’t like Summer dresses to be too close fitting ignorant of the fact it would be *just* right due to everything coming up so small). It is really nice. The only other thing I kept was the silk blouse that I used in my Petite Challenge post.

My kids had their sports day this week and I planned to wear the dress with the gold sandals below having painted my nails in Revlon’s coral but the weather turned cold and cloudy.

A long term item on my wishlist for Summer were white skinny jeans but couldn’t find any that fit then was very pleasantly surprised by this Gap pair which is described as ‘white wash’ and Khaki colour. In reality they are a perfect off white-pale beige-mushroom tone that blends in much better with the rest of my wardrobe and will be wearable for more of the year than stark white ever could. Can’t wait to team it with other stuff!

The pencil skirt was an amzing find at Banana Republic, it’s a lovely light springy wool with a touch of stretch and fits me so well. I’ve already teamed with the Jaeger blouse above and look forward to styling it in different ways.

I often look in the men’s department and this Chambray shirt is from Gap Men in size XP. It’s so well made, much better than the Women’s version I bought at full price. The material is thicker so have worn it on the chillier days this week and of course for the cold seasons to come.

Another item on my Summer wishlist were gold sandals and ballerinas. I found some in the Kids section of Clarks and ordered them in to try on in store. For kids shoes, they must be tried on instore so they can check the fitting. So I duly went in and made my confession that the shoes were in fact for me and not for my girls. They know my girls and were extremely confused to receive the shoes a couple size bigger than Tween’s! I spotted these 2 pairs on the sales rack. Their smallest ladies’ shoes are usually too big for me but I tried them on anyway and they fit having come up small this season. I’ve worn the sandals all this week in between the rain and can’t wait to wear the black pair.

I also found this other pair of sandals from Pretty Small Shoes’s sample sale. This has just the right amount of studs on it for me. My Summer shoes rarely survive and though I’ve many other sandals,  I needed low heels being a full time pedestrian.

Coming soon…..my mini splurge at Net a Porter…..

10 thoughts on “Review: my sales haul

    1. couturecoco Post author

      Thank you! It is sooo comfy but smart enough too. Wish it came in plain colours, then again no, this is enough! LOL!

      Reply
  1. mystyle

    Hi there! You chose some really great pieces, such a shame about the sizing issue. I really love those Gap skinnys, I’ve been after something similar, I will check Gap out xx

    Reply
    1. couturecoco Post author

      Thank you! Wouldn’t be fantastic if you found some White Versace jeans in your charity hunt?

      Reply
    1. couturecoco Post author

      Thank you! Net a Porter a disappointment only one out of 3 I love but still a bargain…

      Reply
  2. Lei

    what a great haul for yourself! I am also on the hunt for skinny white jeans, i hope to find the right fit and length before summer ends! ^^

    Reply
  3. Make Do Style

    Hahaha loving your haul post! Isn’t it annoying when retailers do different sizing for different line.
    I suspect they decided to have a younger body template on the boutique range, which is silly as young women don’t buy Jaeger!

    Reply
    1. couturecoco Post author

      Yeah, they’re still in Top Shop and Zara, takes years to cultivate taste and style – age before beauty I say, hah!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

