Petite Fashion Challenge #13: Budget Style

Annie of Really Petite blog is host and she’s an expert at finding some of the most stylish things at rock bottom prices so if anyone can do this and probably have change to spare, she can!

“Stylish for under $100: Put together a professional outfit (excluding shoes and accessories) for under $100 = +/- £63. If you can, please break down the price of each piece to your outfit.  The lower the price of the completed outfit- the better! Bonus points if you can put together a completed outfit including shoes and accessories for under $100.”

Thrifted vintage wool coat= £15 (charity shop), Zara Boys jumper=£5.99 (sale), Ted Baker wool skirt=£35 (sale) Total without accessories=£55.99 (+/-$88.71)

[Thrifted vintage scarf=£1.50 (charity shop), Longchamp leather belt (*bay)=£20, vintage Charles Jourdan leather bag=£8.50 (*bay), suede Gucci platform loafers=£2.50, yes really, it was listed in the wrong place on *bay!] Grand Total=£88.49 (+/- $140.20)

This was a hard challenge and had me scrabbling around in the deepest recesses of my closets! In the end I’m pleased with my choice as it’s what I would normally wear besides a dress which I wanted to avoid to force myself out of my comfort zone. The skirt is an old favourite I had to have about 5-6 years ago and ran around the whole city finding my size, well it’s now too big for me but I can’t let it go. It’s amazing in movement with pleats front and back plus a split at the front. I stride around without having to worry about the length of my steps.

Everyone who knows me has long accepted my handbag obsession/fetish and how I used to spend hours in charity shops seeking them out. I feel it can make an outfit unique and this one is from the 70’s – I love the double push clasps! This coat is an original from the 50’s, flared and has ties stitched inside to secure but it really looks best worn open which is only possible in the Spring. The way it’s made is very special – I shall add close ups. I’ve had it at least 15 years and wear it such a lot.

Thanks so much Really Petite for hosting!

14 thoughts on “Petite Fashion Challenge #13: Budget Style

    1. couturecoco Post author

      Thank you Cynthia! There isn’t a name label inside. It might have been made to measure for a lady at that time by her own seamstress. That’s one of the reasons why I love vintage – so mysterious 🙂

      Reply
    1. couturecoco Post author

      Thanks so much. It would have been easier with a dress but like I said, just wanted to push myself a little bit. I didn’t even think about the colours until I saw the photos so quite pleased my colour combos are working more easily for me now.

      Reply
  1. Thu

    Excellent job with this one. I totally love the vintage coat and your bag is beautiful. I have a bag fetish too 😉

    2nd time doing PFC and till love seeing everyone’s outfits, come check out mines if you have time, thanks!

    Reply
  2. Vicky

    What steals!!! I can’t believe the prices of each item. I always find such inspiration from your posts that feature unique items with a history. Great post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

