Challenge: How to Do Long Haul Flight Alone with 3 Young Kids?

I still break out in a cold sweat thinking about this very real event in less than a couple of months’ time!  The hardest part is doing it while looking reasonably stylish – or is that simply impossible? There’s no point avoiding it any longer so have started a plan:

  1. Luggage: what can everyone carry with ease balanced against what we need to take? Ideally we should just check in one large suitcase. I need to be hands free to be able to pull along a cabin bag. My kids can each carry a small rucksack with essentials (my girls will want to take half their bedrooms and my Boy will want ALL of his Lego!)
  2. Packing: decide on an edited list for everyone (especially Mummy!)
  3. Travel outfits: layers for the varying temperatures en route
  4. Medication + first aid: with kids you always have to be reasonably prepared and in our case, I will have to carry an Epi Pen (will need to check if supporting documents are required with it)
  5. Food and beverage: with kids you always need a light food supply and I always take some water (never juice or pop) for the long journey to the airport
  6. Spare clothes: with kids you always need a spare set just in case

I will tackle 2. first and list tops and bottoms for them, clothes for myself, toiletries, underwear,  accessories, swimwear and footwear then I can better judge what will fit in our luggage for checking in. The carry on will have to fit my 3 handbags and shoes plus spare clothes for the kids. It’s going to be hard to decide on my travel outfit this time because I need to be as comfortable as possible but dislike wearing trousers on a plane – and I don’t wear leggings, cargos, pyjamas, joggers or tracksuit – at least not out in public.

7 thoughts on “Challenge: How to Do Long Haul Flight Alone with 3 Young Kids?

  1. chocolatecookiesandcandies

    I don’t envy you at all! I’ve seen tourists who try to take the trains with little kids with 2 or 3 massive suitcases which didn’t fit into any of the luggage shelves provided. Nightmare! Over here, we just tend to take small trolley suitcases. Mind you, I’m just so glad I don’t have to worry about strollers, car seats etc etc. We used to travel every 2-3 months and I still break out in cold sweat when I think back to the early days.

    Reply
    1. couturecoco Post author

      I used to feel so sorry for those people and vowed never do that – guess what, we did at one point lol! We didn’t do long haul for one whole year until our youngest was 14 months. At the time I’m sure you managed just fine, it’s just thinking back to thse days!

      Reply
    1. couturecoco Post author

      Thank you Phi! My eldest one finds traveling the hardest because she gets bored easily, hates airline food and doesn’t sleep. I’m going to tackle the clothes list this coming week.

      Reply
  2. Fab At Any Age

    You are very brave but I have to say, could you not just take one handbag that will work for every occasion and not take up so much room in the carry on? Other than that, you seem to have it all sussed out. I always do mix and match for my son so get the extra mileage out of each piece.

    Reply
    1. couturecoco Post author

      Thanks for your idea! We’re going to be away for several weeks (I ain’t doing all this even for 2 weeks!) that’s why I thought to take 3 other bags that fit inside each other so as not to take up too much space. But I think other than my travel handbag, I can take one more and a clutch inside that. x

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Challenge Update: Long Haul Flight with Young Children – Accessories Part II | Couture Coco

Leave a Reply

