Decisions, Directions

Don’t worry, it’s all good and I’m not going anywhere!

Up until a couple of years ago, I had neither the time nor inclination to think about style and fashion the same way as before my children came along. Once my youngest started school, I decided to embark on a little self imposed make over to improve my closet not knowing how long it might take but never thinking it would last almost 2 years! I’m happy and relieved to say my goal is finally in sight and I AM ALMOST DONE! Yes, there is an end point. I never thought of it in this way before but the fact is, it makes no sense anymore to keep on buying and consuming new or new to me stuff. Even if I regulalry get rid of some of the stuff, the point is, I do not need to have it in the first place – it’s always so much harder to get rid of things! The sheer volume of my accumulated stuff was embarrassing yet I still found it hard to decide what to wear some days.

My Tween girl gasps every time she sees my closets open and just last week asked me, ‘Mummy, why do you love fashion so much? You hardly ever wear them [my clothes].’  Don’t you just love it when your kids are old enough to think for themselves and have an opinion? Like all kids, she’s perceptive and she was stating a fact not an opinion even. Then this week, I read an amazing blog about changing shopping habits and cultivating a finite wardrobe. It was fate. Everything finally slotted into place for me. It sounds obvious and silly but I had become so used to searching, I forgot to enjoy all my things now!

My style is the same as it always was, classic but it bored me! I had to make it more unique and that’s been the main focus the last couple of years. Also I decided to complete my wishlist of things I had been dreaming of for decades – it was a now or never situation and I feel incredibly blessed to have achieved that finally. I must say, it would not have been possible without the help of a few fellow bloggers who generously shared their time, experiences and advice – I’m eternally grateful – you know who you are!

Our life is fairly settled now after moving house twice in 6 months last year and my lifestyle is relatively stable as a consequence. So, all this means I have set myself the ultimate challenge of using and shopping my own wardrobe (ok, and Tween’s), without acquiring anything more, indefinitely for as long as I can. I need to do this because in a broader sense, I can’t be telling my kids they can’t have such and such when I continue to contribute to the profits of Chanel and Hermès! To help reflect this ongoing challenge and to encompass a more personal diary style content, I will be changing to a new format over the Summer months. This challenge starts right now……please wish me luck, I’m gonna need it!

8 thoughts on “Decisions, Directions

  1. Vicky

    What you said is so true, and unfortunately I’m in the same boat. I feel the same way about always searching and not having enough time to enjoy the things I have. So I have been thinking about breaking the habit and turn my attention to my existing wardrobe. It’s tough. I am too chicken to make a commitment that you did, so I wish you the best of luck.

    Reply
    1. couturecoco Post author

      Thank you for your wishes and support Vicky! I really appreicate you sharing and it’s already good to know I’m not the only one. I’m like in fashion rehab so will take it a day at a time 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Shopping Detox: Day 1063 | Couture Coco

  3. Pingback: Decisions, Directions Epilogue: Refinement – Bags | Couture Coco

Leave a Reply

