London: Prada, YSL, Hermès and Chanel (Mothership)

I prefer to window shop in the early morning before the crowds arrive. Selfridges was very colourful and I always love fresh flowers.

Beautiful fruit colours at Prada.

This looks like a very useful tote, under the buckle is a zip so you can either leave it unzipped and close the magnetic buckle or both for maximum security. The colour was charcoal – a very beautiful bag.

The shoulder bag version of the Muse style. I think I prefer it as a satchel like this. The only thing I dislike is the canvas lining that also shows around the edges of the bag.

My own Ms Céline Micro during a mid morning tea break.

I love these super stylish ladies in the rain.

Hermès had only menswear in the window so I had to go in for a snoop.

This lady was at the counter watching the Sales lady demonstrate the many ways to wear a twilly scarf. She parked her Ghillie on the glass top. I wish I could show you the other lady carrying the patent Chanel bag – they were so completely opposite! The Hermès lady was all refinement, a simple peasant blouse over plain black trousers. But the blouse was obviously a very fine linen and the trousers a tailored fine cotton gaberdine – may well have been by Hermès but it didn’t matter. Her necklace and cuff were certainly Hermès. The other lady by contrast was all voluptuousness in a tight knit top and tighter jeans carrying a patent bag.

I really wanted to stay to watch the Twilly demo but had to go to Chanel. You see I felt the pull of the mothership! I went to buy the Rouge Noire lipstick – used to wear this a lot in the 90’s. This time I am going to save it for the Autumn/Winter. I mix with it my other reds to make burgundy, plum or raspberry shades. I checked out the Jumbo Reissue bag which is now [{gasp} over £3200! I went to pay for the lipstick and had a very nice conversation with the cashier. He told me they will be moving up Bond Street to take over where Nicole Fahri used to be. Chanel Fine Jewellery will move into their building. Apparently they want to keep it since it was the first Chanel boutique in London. He was asking me if I was on their database and I confessed that I was back in the late 80’s when I used to buy perfume and make up from there only, never at a concession. He said I must remember the old décor when they had a staircase too and I also realised he might not have been born then!

Incredible how modern the packaging is considering when Mlle Chanel first conceived it. Well, that was my last trip to London until the Autumn. Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “London: Prada, YSL, Hermès and Chanel (Mothership)

Leave a Reply

