Film Friday: Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

I first watched this film before I was old enough to understood the details and controversy of the original play. Paul Newman, what can I say? Beautiful, intense? This is one of the very first films I ever saw him in and was smitten ever after.

‘Big Daddy’ is dying of cancer, a fact the doctors and his family hid from him. I didn’t bat an eyelid at the name ‘Brick’ – I knew there was already an actor called ‘Rock’.

What’s not to like?

The baddies – Brick’s brother and pregnant wife who are hell bent on securing Big Daddy’s money.

They have several children in order to make sure of it, whereas Brick’s wife, Maggie ‘The Cat’ has none. Elizabeth Taylor grew on me, I think because the 60’s styling makes everyone look older than their years.

Maggie the Cat fights for her life.

Her fruitless attempts at attracting her husband’s attention.

The original homosexual themes were almost completely omitted.

There was enough drama. I think everyone can relate to regrets of the past and not being able to move on. At the time I just thought he was very, very sad his best friend died.

Note the pillow on the couch where he has been sleeping all alone. Her outfit could be worn today.

Maggie tried to tell Brick about his brother’s plans to take all of their father’s money but he doesn’t seem to care.

Changing for dinner. I wish we could do this much more in modern life.

I tried to imagine the sadness of being so in love with someone who didn’t care.

I think I started wearing slips under my school uniform at the time but it didn’t last long!

Agonising pain from cancer strikes Big Daddy and only Brick is there to give him morphine. Father and son reconcile. Maggie tells a desperate lie that she’s pregnant in front of the entire family.

To her surprise Brick backs her up even though he knows it’s a lie.

The film ends with them setting about making the lie true…note his pillow on the couch that he throws back on the bed.

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Film Friday: Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

  1. Pingback: The OCBD | The most versatile garment to ever exist

Leave a Reply

