Vintage Fur and Kelly

My love of jackets started with seeing them in the classic films of the 40’s and 50’s as a kid. Once grown up and started going to interviews, I was able to wear them myself. And so it continued. Unfortunately it was the 80’s which meant big shoulder pads that looked ridiculous on me. Fortunately, the Petite ranges for a few High Street stores had come out in the late 80’s and by the mid 90’s, shoulder lines were more natural. I’d also discovered vintage cardigan jackets. This was also the time I fell in love with traditional English tailoring by Jaeger, Burberry and Austin Reed. I have so many vintage and modern jackets, I have to make more use of them.

This fur timmed boxy jacket is from I don’t know when exactly, 60’s most probably judging by the boxy shape and unstructured lining. I think it was made specially for someone who was more buxom than me but I like how it fits. Anyway it’s not very thick but really warm and I love the fur trim (cream mink). My vintage Kelly is from the same era and my outfit underneath is all Zara except for the belt and booties.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Vintage Fur and Kelly

Leave a Reply

