Maintenance Cycle Part I: Céline Leathers

I have to say that everything I know about leather is from learning about Hermès leathers. Everything. It’s all a bit backwards since my bag collection actually started with vintage Céline from long before the fame the label enjoys now. Then, finally my Chanel dreams came true with the addtion of the Classic bags to my collection that spilled over into Hermès. I have my work cut out with all the leathers to maintain and shame on me for only starting now!

The Hermès reference threads over at the Purse Forum provided the method and helped me to choose products available in the UK. It’s really important to choose the right cream/lotion for the particular leather and even before you start you need to test on a small unseen area and leave it for 24hrs. I also managed to find the recommended products from USA that were shipped over here at a reasonable cost.

I wanted to start with my vintage Box leathers first because they are the most vulnerable to drying out and cracking. Here’s a before photo of my tan Céline saddle bag. It was scuffed and worn all along the edges. I used the Blackrock on her as directed on the label and following detailed guidelines given in the Hermès Reference threads.It’s applied in tiny amounts using your fingertips in small circular motions – very pleasant!

Even after just one treatment (2 is recommended), the leather glows and the surface scuffs are less obvious. The leather just drank up the cream. It’s meant to be done every 6 months or so to keep the leather in good condition. There is another cream that will make it waterproof but I don’t have that yet. Next I’ll start on the Hermès bags.

Thanks for reading!

8 thoughts on “Maintenance Cycle Part I: Céline Leathers

  1. Sue

    Can I have your bag please? It’s lovely. That’s the kind of simple understated bag I like … when I’m not carrying a big monster bag for my shopping :o)

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you Sue! I picked this up really cheaply – I’m talking £40 – which I don’t think would get me any bag in Zara or even Topshop – couldn’t believe it but it is undoubtedly one of my all time favs for looks, practicality and construction.

      Reply
      1. Sue

        How much! Having said that, I went in TK Maxx for the first time in years this year and found a Loewe bag in there for £100. I put it back on the grounds that it wasn’t my style regardless of the price and that it was Loewe. Sensible head firmly screwed on that day.

      2. silkpathdiary Post author

        Excellent restraint and logic! I’m really trying hard to practise it more often…..I know, felt guilty and almost offered the seller more money for it, she seemed to have no idea!
        Have to say I am not too keen on Loewe, expected better quality for the price.

  2. Pingback: Asymmetry | Silk Path Diary

  3. Pingback: The Bag Matrix | Silk Path Diary

  4. Pingback: ‘La’ Brique and Safari Green | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

