Simple Blues and Greys

BLUESGREYS3Linking to Patti’s Not Dead Yet Style blog for her weekly Visible Monday

Maybe a very boring outfit for most of you but for me, it took a while to get here as I had a difficult time dressing casually without looking too casual and sloppy. I always loved the faded jean look and aspired to make it work. These jeans are straight leg from Marks & Spencers and after 2 years they are finally broken in and indeed fading.

The ultimate in casual versatility are faded blue jeans, for boys and girls, I mean everyone understands them the world over. They can be worn all year round come rain or shine, dressed down with a tee and flats or with jackets and heels dressed up – magic! I think I’m happy with the dressed down look so I will try working on the dressed up bit like how most everyone else can do effortlessly. The first thing will be to add jackets – I have so many I must use them a lot more. As for the heels, I see some limitations already because I’m rather fussy about heels with jeans.

Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “Simple Blues and Greys

  1. Sue

    Ooh I really like this – this is like something I would wear normally – blues and greys! And the jeans are wearing in beautifully – they will be a perfect summer shade! It’s funny how you don’t like to be too dressed down and I don’t like to be dressed up!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      That is funny lol! Thank you so much! This is the Gap top I need to replace, see how it slouches just your Splendid tee but this has a touch of wool in it so quite warm. You know what, I bought 2 pairs of these jeans because I knew they wouldn’t be available again and I used to be so hung up about things wearing out but I’m getting better and accepted that ‘signs of wear’ is GOOD in jeans lol! I just have to put the other pair away 🙂

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much Sharon, you and your denim love are an inspiration to me. I’m a later starter (my middle name!) to denim and if you’d told me just 3 years ago I’d have a dozen pairs of jeans, I’d sooner think I’d shave my head lol!

      Reply
  2. Chiara

    Love the grey and blue combination, and the scarf detail is very chic.
    Like you, I don’t like my jeans look to be too dressed down… I have found when everything else fails, adding a blazer really makes the outfit more dressy.

    Reply
  3. Jan Graham-McMillen

    Do you know that your bearing and posture makes this outfit more polished that it might be on another woman? Effortless casual isn’t always achieved without effort, is it? As a sister petite, I love heels with my jeans, but I agree there are problematic aspects depending on the heels you choose! They say so much, so precisely! You nailed it here. NOT boring at all.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you, thank you – you’re very kind with your compliments! I naturally have bad posture and seeing myself slouch in blog photos has really helped to make me improve 🙂 But it doesn’t come easy either! Once the weather turns more to Spring, I shall experiement with the different types of heels and try to keep an open mind even though I have certain preconceptions.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

