Accidental Oversized Coat

COSCOAT2This was my very first purchase from COS over the Christmas holidays. I was searching for a black coat and none turned up that I liked until I saw this one which is fact a dark charcoal grey. There was only one size left, EU 40 so I took a leap of faith and hoped for the best. When I received it, not only was I surprised that the coat colour was even better and more versatile than black but that the fit was exactly the ideal I hoped for: length and sleeves perfect, no shoulder pads and just the right amount of ‘oversize-ness’ not to overwhelm but at the same time allows layering underneath – this is very much the ‘accidental’ part!

BFJEANSLove this shade of blue jean and jumper.

COSCOATThe style is from a Duster coat of the 1950’s I believe and I was looking for an actual vintage coat that buttons up because I already own an open version in camel bought decades ago. But none turned up after a year of searching so how ironic that I found this modern version! It does have batwing sleeves that are usually a no-go for me but they are fairly close to the body so work okay fortunately. I’m really pleased it can be worn with jeans as an alternative to my other coats and parkas. I’m impressed with the quality and the bound buttonholes especially – definitely not something I see everyday!

Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “Accidental Oversized Coat

  1. Sue

    What a perfect accident of a coat! Love it. I’ve never dared buy anything from Cos yet as I’m not sure of their sizing but I hope to do a reccy next month when I pop down to London. I prefer dark charcoal grey to black (shows up less dust and hairs). Believe me – you were meant to have that coat.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Sue! I found one of their dresses too tight across the bust but fitted everywhere else, maybe it was just that particular style. I am still after a black coat – short style now maybe – but taking my time now as we’re getting into Spring soon enough.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: COS I’m worth it! | Silk Path Diary

  3. Pingback: Inspiration: Colour, Pattern, Texture and Volume | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

