Layering Practice

LAYERCABLEJEANS3Linking to Patti’s Not Dead Yet Style blog for the weekly Visible Monday

I was given this short sleeve jumper from the Zara sales last Summer and wondered how I was going to wear it due to the short sleeves and slouchy fit. It took me a while to realise its layering potential. I’m not a natural when it comes to layering so was really happy to manage this with my bf jeans. I’m going to have to sew little patches behind the tears in the jeans because I keep getting my big toe caught in them – is it just me?!

Thanks for reading!

15 thoughts on “Layering Practice

  1. Sue

    That’s funny – no you are not the only one who puts your toe through the rips. I have done it so many times that I now am very cautious when I am putting them on. To the point that I am now buying jeans without rips in them. I have too many with rips! Really liking the grey ankle boots – make your legs look really long with the boyfriend jeans. Everything helps for us small people doesn’t it?

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Lol! Glad I’m not alone 🙂 My girls were beyond shocked to see me wear holy jeans and my youngest was genuinely concerned suggesting Grandma would help me sew them up. The boots are fleece lined wedges and I stocked up with a brown pair too – oops! Thanks so much Sue.

      Reply
  2. silkpathdiary Post author

    Thanks so much Vix – I’m really pleased with the jumper now. It took vintage inspiration from the 30/40’s when women used to wear their ‘fully fashioned’ jumpers over blouses. Of course you’ve done it for years already!!!

    Reply
  3. mystyle

    Hi my dear!! Love this outfit, one of my favourites on you! The jumper looks great as a layering piece and your jeans and boots are fabulous, perfect boyfriend styling going on! Have a great week xxx

    Reply
  4. yana

    I’m terrible at layering too, it just doesn’t come naturally – I almost bought a khaki vest yesterday but then couldn’t help but think how on earth would I realistically wear this! Love how you styled it xx
    http://mademois-elle.com

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much for dropping by and commenting! A vest – yes, how I have longed to be able to wear one of these but they just do not work on me…maybe one day, there’s a vest out there for me…:-)

      Reply
  5. Chiara

    When I wore ripped jeans, I had to be very careful to not tear them with my finger!
    Nice layering. I too am intimidated by short sleeved wook sweathers.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Chiara! I like short sleeve sweaters but this one is fairly thick with the cable pattern so a bit more challenging. I plan to wear it over a blouse next.

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Black and Blue All Over | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

