Chinese New Year of the Snake

REDCOATLinking to Not Dead Yet Style and Visible Monday

Today’s post shows what I wore for Chinese New Year yesterday. It’s the second New Year of the year that our multicultural family celebrate so far and there’s going to be another one to come in April 🙂 It’s a great time to spend with family and friends. Kids always get a ‘red packet’ which is an envelope of money. And there’s much too much food and drink for all! Roll on April…

I always wanted to wear red but never did for years and years. It’s such a bold and emotive colour, I never had the confidence to wear it until last year. This coat is Tommy Hilfiger and so warm. The double breasted Trench style is too much for my frame, I concede, but since it’s a proper winter coat, most of it is obscured by the obligatory scarf as you can see. Sorry about the wellies, a necessary evil during sudden snow and freezing weather.

REDCOAT2I did have the sleeves shortened when I bought it and thought I could get away with the original length. However, I checked again to see if shortening the length by a couple inches would make a big improvement to the overall look on me and decided to leave it since it would look boxier shorter with the double breast and this way I can wear heels with it fine.

Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “Chinese New Year of the Snake

  1. Jan Graham-McMillen

    This is such a great look for you … this shade of red is perfect on you. You should wear it daily. I have a red (cooler shade) trench (minimally referential to a trench coat, anyway!) that’s cut shorter and slimmer. I never wear it … all red coats are clearly not created equal! This is beautiful on you, and I see it easily with sleek heels.

    When I was a very little girl, my parents went to a New Year’s Eve party given by Chinese family friends … they owned a wonderful restaurant where I often went with my parents. My mother had me sit down with some red ribbon and some silver half dollars (This was a LONG time ago) and had me wrap them for the children of our hosts. “Well, this is neat, ” I thought. I also thought that I’d get to go to the party, and that someone would wrap coins in red ribbon for me. Making a long story short, I can tell you I was sad that I didn’t get to go after all. But I’ve always remembered that lovely custom!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Jan! I knew I had it in me to wear red 🙂 now to make up for all those lost years! And thank you for sharing your bitter sweet story, I really appreciate it. Oh yes, you would have surely got your own little ‘red packet’ – all children do, even the grown ups so the elders, usually the Grandparents get a little bit cleaned out at this time of year lol!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

