Closet Audit: Casual Foundations

BFJEANSI’ve always found it easier to dress up though maybe not for exactly formal events but definitely special occasions. My closet consisted of ‘dressing up’ clothes such as work suits, day and cocktail dresses. For non dress up I had a vintage pair of Levi jeans, drawstring pants and a couple of bias skirts with a few fitted tops. That’s it. There was nothing in between. I don’t know why it was so hard and it’s taken me such a long time to find and build a foundation of casual items I feel comfortable in and confident about.

Jeans: one of the most important elements is this little pile of jeans above. Count them, four pairs of Gap boyfriend jeans plus two in the wash…I’m just making up for lost time. I couldn’t choose between because they all have a different look, from the bottom: very dark blue selvage, a pale blue wash which is thinner due to the deliberate wear process (called ‘citrine’), mid blue with holes, grey and in the wash are the neutral wash (called ‘grain’) and another blue pair with copper stitching that reminds me so much of the 70’s.

Skirts: the most edited of the lot – fine cord mini, white cotton pencil, fuschia jersey pencil, white flared linen and a denim pencil.

SKIRTSJumpers: indicative of the climate I live in ๐Ÿ™‚ I need a couple more in grey! There are 2 different types, fitted and slouchy. I haven’t included the 2 super thick jumpers and polonecks I wear for a few weeks each year the big freeze hits.

JUMPERSShirts: I really want to wear more of these because of the tailored details and menswear look I love. Odd one out is the blush colour peasant blouse which I am still not sure is me or not.

SHIRTS#Knits: usual slouchy and closer fit tees with 3 vintage Rayon tops inherited from my mother that she wore riding about town on her little Vespa scooter in the 60’s ๐Ÿ™‚

KNITS

Coats/jackets: trench here and here, utility here, here and here and and parka here

Shoes: ballerinas, ankle boots and (wedge trainers – I can’t find these anywhere!) and tall boots. Again a reflection of the climate I live in. I’m planning to add some plaine white Converse tennis shoes towards the Summer and some black ballerinas.CASUALSHOESThe 3 pairs bottom right are all from Clarks kids. I need to replace the white laces of the boy’s desert style grey suede boots I’m going to save these for my son since he’s only half a size behind me and he already has the same pair in blue – uh huh blue suede ๐Ÿ™‚ I try to avoid suede footwear but it’s not always possible.

I’ve been able to really focus on what I have and seeing them together like this as a category has helped a lot. In fact this is all I need as a stand alone closet….if only I didn’t get bored easily and didn’t love dressing up so much!

Thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “Closet Audit: Casual Foundations

    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Sharon! I’m working on the colour and as things need to be replaced I will think to pick a colour I love rather than reach for a neutral as usual. I do have some red jeans that I forgot to add in the pile and will look out for a pair in cobalt blue.

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Oh you’re good! I totally take my dresses for granted but will add them – thanks so much for the prompt! I have to add that I really like and am very inspired by how you wear quite ‘dressy’ pieces in a casual but totally chic way ๐Ÿ™‚ This is a way I could get to wear my dressier items more.

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Chiara! OK, you got me on the accessories because I do have a selection though mainly bags but there are some bits of jewellery, belts and scarves too. So I will add these in!

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Closet Audit: Casual Dresses and Accessories | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

