Film Friday: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000)

CTHD I’ve always been a fan of foreign films and totally bought into the hype before the release of this film. I wasn’t disappointed and the fact that I don’t even remember which country I was in when I watched it, let alone the town, shows you how it was all about the film itself for me. Two of the main actors were familiar already, Michelle Yeoh and Chow Yun-fat and I had always been impressed by their gravitas. I loved everything about the film, the music, the costumes, the pace, the storylines, the characters, everything. Zhang Ziyi was the new comer and perfectly cast as a young noblewoman with a secret double life and about to be married off.

TEAThe formalities of tea drinking.DOLLDolled up and coveting a sword. MOTHERS Walls have ears.THIEFThief.DUEL3Prepare to duel! DUEL2These scenes must surely be among the most unique in cinema. I found them realistic and balletic in equal measure. DUELNo weapon was spared.CTHD2TOUGH2 Steely teen determination and bloody mindedness typical the world over and timeless it seems.bambooDuel in the bamboo trees. BAMBOO2 I’ve loved the more traditional Chinese films where they fly around and fight without getting their long skirts, hair and sleeves caught. It was simply magical and there was one film I loved in particular called ‘Chinese Ghost Story’ and used to plague my Chinese friends about it. They told me it’s one of many with that title since these films originate from the same legend or folklore.BAMBOO3 No long trailing skirts or sleeves here, just extra big pyjamas.BAMBOO4She really wants that sword! TOUGH3LOVELove born out of long and mutual respect.TOUGH She’s still fighting.TOUGH4 CAVE First love, nothing could be more powerful.lOVERMore perfect.CTHD3Or more impossible. LOSS2The moment he realises his loss.indexHer loss happened over several hours. These are some of the most touching scenes in film and never fail to move me to tears no matter how many times I watch them.

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Film Friday: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000)

  1. Sue

    I can’t watch it. I watched it the once and it was too sad at the end so I’ve never watched it again. And Zhang Ziyi is just beautiful.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Oh Sue, it’s true but somehow I can just about gather myself together and think it had to be like that – the Romeo & Juliet kind of love and the other of observing custom and rules. Yes, she is!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

