This Week Last Year

It was warm enough to wear dresses with bare legs this time last year! Now I’m a whole year older and wiser, I thought it was useful to re-cap and see if I would wear or style anything differently.

lace The original dress was way too short for me so I scoured *bay for another and grafted the skirt on for a double tiered, longer dress. I remember I wanted a metal belt to wear with it and I still haven’t found one. I wouldn’t style it any differently now for a dinner out but I will try wearing it with flats for daytime.leopardccThis is one of my favourite dresses ever and again, I want to try to be able to wear it more for everyday. neutralsmicroThe fitted knit jacket and skinny jeans together are too much effort for me as I get older and less patient not to mention rotund so I’m going to try the jacket with bf jeans, casual dresses and skirts. The skinny jeans I discovered are so much easier to wear with a loose shirt tunic style here with or without the heels. SPDHEADERI wore this as my travel outfit on a kids free Spring Break. It was very comfortable except the zips on my booties and belt buckle were much too much for the airport metal detectors! I will try the same outfit with flats or different booties for everyday.

Not so bad! It just confirms what I wrote about last time, that I don’t need dressy looks but more everyday. I’m going to try to do this review regularly to help me focus.

Thanks for reading!

8 thoughts on “This Week Last Year

  1. Vix

    I loved that navy dress last year and I still do now, just gorgeous!
    Even if I remove all my jewellery I invariably have to strip off to my pants to show them my hip replacement scar as the screws play havoc with the X ray machine. x

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Vix! I thought you’d be able to carry a dr’s letter to say you’ve got a bionic hip 🙂 Later in the Summer I had to have a pat down so I’m working my way to a full strip search 🙂

      Reply
  2. Veshoevius

    Like chalk and cheese between last year and this! You have some fabulous dresses and shoes! That blue lace dress is gorgeous – what a clever idea about cleaving the extra skirt on to make the dress the right length for you. I love the leopard print shift too.

    Reply
  3. Chiara

    I can’t really choose between the first two looks. Both are very chic, and I love the alteration you made on the blue dress. I’d try it with metallic shoes, in addition to a metallic belt, it might be slightly more summery.
    You look good with skinnies and a blazer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

