Holiday and Hosiery

I’m not sure what happened, maybe it’s the desperately prolonged Winter, maybe it’s only desperate dreaming of the Summer holidays to keep us going through the snow in April. OK it’s just desperate! I bought a swimsuit…for the first time in 7 years…I know this because my youngest was a year old and I took her to baby swim sessions so I bought a couple of tankinis then. I showed this new swimsuit to my kids and their silence was deafening.

Eventually my Tween girl piped up with ‘You need to lose weight’. Sometimes you want kids to lie!Β  It does look tiny but believe me it has a lot of stretch and hold (in), know what I mean? And no, I won’t be modelling it….at least not until the Summer holidays πŸ™‚SWIMSUITI also bought this 60’s style tunic dress. I’d seen the one by Banana Republic in their Mad Men Collection but I don’t like that it’s 100% silk that needs to be dry cleaned. This one is a soft synthetic and machine washable. It’s a day dress and can also be a beach cover and layered for the cooler season. I love the colours and the scale of the print. Let me back up a bit and say that originally I wanted a Pucci dress and the style I instinctively went for was exactly this shirt dress tunic. However I never found the print I liked so in the end I decided that the actual garment was more important to me than the Pucci print itself.

PATTERNDRESS Hosiery has been neglected of late and I badly needed both replacements and updates so I picked up a selection of new tights and ankle socks too.

HOSIERYFear not, I’m passing the purple and pink pastel socks onto my Tween girl πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading!

11 thoughts on “Holiday and Hosiery

  1. Annette

    I always wore bikinis but for the first time I am seriously looking into buying a swimsuit. And there are gorgeous, feminine ones available. Do you know Shabby Apple? Love their retro style!

    Your purchases are really fabulous!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      I normally wear bikinis too a loooong time ago but really want to try the swimsuit especially since as you say, there are such lovely ones out there. I’m not familiar with that brand so will have a look – thank you so much!

      Reply
  2. Veshoevius

    Love the swimsuit and the dress! Especially the floral print on the swimsuit – so pretty!
    I did a big hoisery replacement at the beginning of winter – five pairs of wooly tights – and I am amazed at how worn out they got, almost all now have holes in the feet – with the cold it just never let up and I wore them to death!

    Reply
  3. Kathleen Lisson

    Swimsuits are a nightmare. Why can’t there be a ruffle right where my fit and flare dresses pouf out – I find so many dresses that hide a tummy, but swimsuits always make me feel like a chubby toddler.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Holiday: First Look | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

