Better Late Than Never: Jeans and Heels

CHECKBFKITTENHEELS4Linking to Patti’s Not Dead Yet Style for Visible Monday

OK, I’m trying something else that’s new to me, heels and jeans but first let me say I’ve been raiding the Kid’s department (again) at Gap. This is a boy’s pure cotton check shirt I couldn’t resist because I really love the colours! Aside from the fact it’s well made with a good finish, the sleeves are the right length and it feels very comfortable. I’m hoping with time it’ll soften a bit but before then, I’ll just enjoy, no revel in the fresh crisp shirt feel 🙂

For the longest time I’ve resisted wearing heels except ankle boots with any kind of jeans. I never really wore jeans properly until literally last year and the idea of wearing high heels with them just didn’t register with me. Of course EVERYONE is doing it and so okay, okay I get it! Always late to the party, that’s me! I did try it with skinny jeans once here but didn’t feel it was me. CHECKBFKITTENHEELS3 I understand how high heels with skinny jeans would make your legs appear infinitely longer but when you don’t have skinny legs in the first place, adding vertiginous high heels feels comical too much especially on a short person like me. What, you want me to do it anyway? For a laff? You’re ON! 🙂 Watch out for the post!

So, enter the kitten heel sling backs – they are heels, just low that’s all 🙂 These are an ancient pair by Pied A Terre that I thrifted for something like £1 years ago but never wore. I really like how they work with the bf jeans as a girly – they have bows on top – alternative to my recent brogue, loafer and slipper styles. The navy leather clutch is vintage Genny (I’ve treated her – see how she glows?), orange cuff and belt by Hermès. Apologies for the blue white skinny ankles (the only part of me that’s always truly skinny) – it’s been a long Winter!

Thanks for reading!

28 thoughts on “Better Late Than Never: Jeans and Heels

  1. Iva

    I like you in those relaxed outfits, and checked shirts are my weakness, I like them since I was a school girl. You look great!

    Reply
      1. Iva

        they look nice on you, I don’t see a reason you should avoid them. They are not only for teenagers.

    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much for taking the time to visit and comment! I’m looking for more but it’s hard when my feet are so tiny – I’m shorter than you so you can imagine 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jan Graham-McMillen

    I love it! You look so cute in this outfit … and I think you got it just right. I wear heels with almost eveything that I can dress up even a little. I’ve been looking at the glossies to see what’s fresh for spring this year, and heels seem to be worn with just about everything. I’m glad to be back to non-platforms, but miss the comfort a little.

    Reply
  3. Sue

    Loving the colours on the shirt and it always pays to keep an open mind on where to shop doesn’t it? I confess to shopping in the boys section as well – my excuse is I can always hand it on to my boys when they are the right age.

    Can’t wait for the vertiginous heels to make an appearance!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Sue! Yes, me too, my Tween girl is fast coming up to my size now 🙂 If she grows bigger than me, I’ll still have my other 2 younger ones as excuses – I’m covered!

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Summer Check | Silk Path Diary

  5. Pingback: Summer: Blue Check | Silk Path Diary

  6. Pingback: Baggy Pants and Tan Slippers | Silk Path Diary

  7. Pingback: Nevermind the Weather | Silk Path Diary

  8. Pingback: Spring Forward 2017 | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

