Selvedge Jeans and Neutrals

SELVAGEBFJEANSThese are the last among the half a dozen Gap 1969 bf jeans from last year. They’re called selvage (..is a type of denim which forms a clean natural edge that does not unravel more information here) and are a dark blue cotton with button closure and no stretch . As there’s no stretch it was harder to gauge the fit but in the end I just got my regular size bearing in mind they will probably give in time. I really like them! They make me think of jeans from the 1950’s and maybe that’s why I felt like using a small, ladylike structured bag. The buttons are a bit fiddly as I’m out of practice – only my old Levis have buttons and I haven’t worn them for over a decade! The bag is my latest Hermès love called the Rugby. I realised I need a couple more ‘neutral’ bags and this is the most perfect tan colour I’ve been looking for.

SELVAGEBFJEANSaIt wasn’t as warm as it looked and my feet were cold so I changed my bag and shoes (still Clarks Girls!). I actually don’t own any white socks and these were at the top in the drawer 🙂SELVAGEBFJEANSb

I haven’t shortened them so the turn ups are a bit thick and lumpy. My jumper is a cotton/cashmere mix by Gap Men last year, so soft and not at all flimsy. The silk scarf is an ancient sale find from Singapore when my family visited on holiday – I was 16! It was in a department store and my mother and I went our separate ways to shop but ended up with this exact same scarf each! I think she still has it too. The bag is Céline, also here.

Thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “Selvedge Jeans and Neutrals

  1. mystyle

    Hi there-I really love these jeans, I’m on the look out for a pair selvedge jeans too-yours definitely do have a 50s vibe going on! The Hermes bag is stunning too xx

    Reply
  2. Sue @ A Colourful Canvas

    Hello, It’s nice to meet you. I’m actually visiting via Visible Monday. I look forward to reading some additional posts.

    Wanted to comment and say I really like this chic, casual look. I’m short too, 5’2″, and I always love seeing petite bloggers that rock looks like this. Easy jeans, flats, a sweater,and a scarf. Perfect!

    Sue xo

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much for taking the time to visit and comment! This casual look is a major achievement for me since I could never manage it before and always looked more dressed up or formal.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Baggy Pants and Tan Slippers | Silk Path Diary

  4. Pingback: Selvedge Indigo and Camel | Silk Path Diary

  5. Pingback: Sunshine on a Rainy Day | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

