Stripes and Military

UTILITYGREENLast year I fell in love with the Parka and Utility/Military jackets here and here. This one was found right at the end of last Summer from Gap Men in the sales and I couldn’t wait to wear it this year. I should be able to wear it all the time except the weather isn’t co-operating… UTILITYGREEN3I couldn’t be happier with the material, colour, details, fit and finish. The hood is detachable with a sturdy metal zip. And it’s washable! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, men’s clothes are always better! I’m wearing a thermal vest and had to add a spotty silk scarf as it’s still pretty cold *sigh*! But wait, I forgot to put on a couple of things…

UTILITYGREEN5Here with a vintage goldtone necklace and cuff. I love these slim black trousers by Coming Soon. The cotton is a medium weight and the cut is great with jodphur shaped stitching at the knees. The problem is it’s dry clean only and I haven’t made my mind up whether to take the risk and cold wash them. This is a major issue and no matter how nice a garment is, I will not buy if it’s dry clean only unless of course it’s a coat or jacket.UTILITYGREEN4These Chelsea boots are by Toggi thrifted for about £1 on *bay over 2 years ago and they’re indestructible! They’re my run around boots because I can just pull on in a hurry. Once I got them muddy and left them outside the house with the intention to clean them the next day but of course it rained the whole night and they got completely soaked. I thought that was the end of them and didn’t even bother to bring them back in but they dried out and are perfectly fine! I deserve some tlc and a nice polish.GOLDKHAKIGREENI LOVE this Kenneth Jay Lane brushed goldtone cuff. I wear it a lot with blues and it goes well with khakis too. I’ve been too busy to change bags recently so hope you’re not too bored with the Céline She’s pretty much a perfect tote for me 🙂

Thanks for reading!

11 thoughts on “Stripes and Military

  1. Lucy

    The military jacket and the metallic flats are a great combination. Don’t be surprised if I copy that sometime! 😉

    I have yet to find the ideal cargo/military jacket for me, but I am always on the lookout.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Lucy – never thought I’d like the combo so much! There are so many different versions of the cargo/military jacket, it’s daunting. I was just lucky to stumble upon this one at the time.

      Reply
  2. Jan Graham-McMillen

    Great coat, great look and great value! You look precisely “effortlessly chic!” Amazing how just a couple of pieces at the end can really make your outfits special. This is a lesson I really need to learn!

    Reply
  3. Sue

    You know me – in my books, picture 1 is my version of the outfit. Picture 3 is where you make it your own with your jewellery and scarves. I need to accessorise more but I find myself always taking jewellery off because it either gets caught or I’m jangling too loudly.

    And I do love the jade bangle. Must be me harking back to my heritage.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Sue! I used to be the same, in fact I rarely bothered because I never thought they were *important* but the older I get, the more I feel the accessories are a part of the look.
      My cuffs/bracelets used to feel awkward but that was only because they were invariably too big so there’s HUGE potential for you to make small enough pieces that properly adorn and not get in the way 🙂

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Autumn Khaki, Grey and Blues | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

