Silk, Jeans and Python

SILKPYTHON4Linking to Patti’s Not Dead Yet Style for Visible Monday SILKPYTHON2 This outfit has much meaning to me. I suppose it sums up how far I’ve come in trying to find my own personal look and comfort zone to match my age and lifestyle.SILKPYTHONThis blouse was found on *bay many years ago as a replacement for a similar one that fell apart because I wore it so much. In those days it was worn with the same things now, skirts, trousers and jeans but in a different, more relaxed way. It’s a traditional style and design in silk with copious embroidery in the palest grey silk thread. And here it is worn with my newer favourites and wardrobe essentials, bf jeans, a knit jacket and python kitten heels. These heels are a treasure – Jimmy Choo and so incredibly comfortable. The couple of inches of heel make all the difference when you’re as short as me!SILKSANDBEADSI had no idea how perfectly the colours marry until I put them on. The double row glass beads were a recent *bay find, a little different to the pearls I would have usually reached for. This is the kind of closet update I strive for; inserting new favourites with the old. I have to tell you, my son asked me; ‘What’s with all the beautiful clothes, Mummy?’ [he’s only 9, my reply is the same to his father], ‘What, these old things I found in the cupboard?’ 🙂SILKPYTHO54I had almost forgotten about this Céline bag that I bought because I use my neutral Hermès Lindy so much during the Spring/Summer. And who knew I could wear this much metal 🙂

Thanks for reading!

26 thoughts on “Silk, Jeans and Python

  1. Sue

    Lovely look and a beautiful blouse – very oriental – I seem to remember looking for something like that when I was younger and they are extremely hard to find. And such a lucky score. The colour palette is very soft but very chic.

    Too much metal – nah!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Sue! It IS an Oriental blouse, they float around *bay and charity shops which is where I found my first one. Failing that I’m almost certain your sister could find them in HK?

      Reply
  2. Dawn @ AlterEgoFashionista

    You’re look is so casual chic! I love that type of embroidered blouse, the great jeans, and the mix of all the neutrals (How do you make beige look so awesome???)…but the python kitten heels knock it out of the ballpark! I’m not much for animal motifs, but you’re making a believer out of me!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much for your encouragement!! Honestly, I’ve had a looong time to practise – I’ve loved beige/light cream for as long as I can remember and one trick is for a single tone look is to mix textures. Python is the new neutral 🙂

      Reply
  3. Jan Graham-McMillen

    So beautiful … nobody wears neutrals like a brunette, I swear. And you, in particular. Just beautiful, as always. Freaking magnificent blouse with your very luxe-looking cardigan. I’m trying to collect pieces that will play off each other for more seasons, and that will freshen up with a few new pieces. You’re the one to watch to learn how to do that!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Ahh thank you so much Jan, as always, your support is just marvelous and helps me to know I’m on the right track – I really appreciate it 🙂 I’m contstantly surprised how some retailers like BR and Gap can produce such great things from time to time.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Cream | Silk Path Diary

  5. Pingback: Baggy Pants and Tan Slippers | Silk Path Diary

  6. Pingback: Another New Year: Camel, Khaki and Beige – Day and Night | Silk Path Diary

  7. Pingback: Spring Basics: 3 x Pencil Skirts | Silk Path Diary

  8. Pingback: Casual Luxe | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

