‘Celebrity’ Dinner

image1xxl

Linking to Patti’s Not Dead Yet Style for Visible Monday – with something a little different from me this time!

As promised this is the result of my ‘Formal Attire’ occasion. Above is the navy blue jersey dress by ASOS. I was pretty decided on not buying anything designer or super expensive, afterall it’s not going to be a work horse item for me 🙂 Everything else I already owned, however I did purchase some new make up stuff that’s long overdue.

EVEVELVET2 So, you see how I’m a couple of feet shorter than the model 😉EVEVELVET3Dame Helen Mirren looked good enough to eat! EVEVELVET4‘Mr Cruise, I know I make you look tall but I’m already spoken for…!’ 😉EVEVELVET5BIG Daniel was indeed the best!EVEVELVET6I even had an audience with the Royal Family so it was a very successful evening!

I got around that night….. As the weather turned cool and wet, this little velvet jacket saved my life! It’s unworn in a silk mix velvet by Zara I found in a charity shop about 2 years ago. The gold beaded bag was also a charity shop find (from the 90’s) last carried at a wedding. The shoes are by Lara Bohinc from several seasons ago also here and here. Earrings are vintage and the cocktail ring is by Kenneth Jay Lane. And though I was on my feet for over 4 hours, there was no blistering or anything at all – that’s what I call a well designed pair of shoes and they’re 4″ high! My children approved of my look except for the thigh high split, my 8 year old girl wanted me to sew it up 🙂

Thanks for reading!

18 thoughts on “‘Celebrity’ Dinner

  1. Sue

    Brilliant and that is a gorgeous dress. Love that it’s navy and not back. I have to say I would have had to do quick hem job for my own safety. I am always guaranteed to step on the hem of any maxi I wear which can be quite dangerous especially when going up stairs.

    And agreed – Daniel Craig is the best. My hubs used to hang out with him in his teen years.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Sue! I did think of hemming it but because it’s jersey, it’s difficult and too much trouble for literally a couple of inches at the front to clear my toes – I always love a little train at the back 🙂 As it was I managed with holding it up slightly at the front when navigating steps but had to be careful to avoid positioning the split right up the middle 😉 Walking along was fine as the hem flew up enough to clear the floor with the movement. I had to board a slow moving roller coaster ride while holding the skirt up decently and the handbag THEN get off again while it was still moving – THAT was challenging!

      Daniel looked so different when he had longer hair before he got the 007 part, he’s pretty perfect now! I wonder if he’s changed much personality wise from when your hubs knew him?

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much! I know! He should have waited for me! I was shocked to find the dress at ASOS of all places and the length…..easily could have had a 4 foot train situation there 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jan Graham-McMillen

    Waaaaaa!!!! How cool is this … I love this post, what a treat and how fun that must have been! Wish you had shown a bit of leg when posing with the boys.
    You look lovely, and I’m so glad you didn’t sew up the slit!
    Best. Thing. All. DAY!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Jan!!! It really was the most fun though I managed to keep my poker face 🙂 but FORGOT to do my best Bond Girl pose with Daniel shame on me! My date had the best time as well, he’s rather handsome (even though I say so myself ha!) and the official Events Photographer followed him all evening to take photos. Lesson = never date someone prettier than you, unless she’s a girl 🙂

      Reply
  3. happyface313

    This is a real lovely and fun post! You look wonderful in that dress, outfit in total and it’s fun the way you wrote it and the pictures of you with your “celebrities” 🙂
    Have a very HAPPY week! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Casual Brocade | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

