Small Town to Big City

I spent a couple of days (sans enfants) in London and enjoyed it a lot! It was just long enough to relax and reflect before any kind of boredom had the chance to set in. As a former resident I never had the need to stay in a hotel in the capital before. It’s really nice to re-discover London as a mock-country-dwelling-tourist.

CCH On the train: Brown Caviar Chanel Jumbo, Hermès Coup de Fouet scarf, envirosax. I love train travel when it’s off peak and empty.GREY3I freshened up on our arrival at the hotel and changed into a grey shift with zip details (Michael Kors) for a buffet dinner. The cardigan is my old faithful cashmere (Escada) with a couple of Hermès cuffs, python Jimmy Choo kitten heels and caviar Chanel Jumbo. That drawing by Picasso behind me happens to be one of my most favourites. GREYIf I needed another outift, I would have used the scarf as a shawl but forgot to bring some big earrings.GREY2I love this piece of furniture! GREY6Could lounge on it all day!SILKSHIRTSilk satin blouse (Theory) with the slim navy Zara trousers, python Jimmy Choo heels and a few key accessories, to breakfast the next day.SILKSHIRT2The silk felt divine! I can’t tell you how incredibly glamorous it made me feel first thing in the morning 🙂 LEMPICHow did they know these are some of my favourite colours? I really love the rich ochre/gold with the bitter chocolate brown and greys. LEMPIC2With pale beige, white and orange…sound familiar? My Autumn/Winter palette right there! LEMPICBREAKFASTUsual breakfast buffet spread but see those shot glasses – no, I’m not a relapsed alcoholic although they are called ‘Eye Openers’ – those contain mixes of 2 fruit juices with a hint of the unexpected, the yellow was mango, lemon and chilli – oh that was good and opened my eyes alright! Some can’t take such strong flavours so early in the morning but I really found it refreshing and yes, inspiring which is exactly what the Chef said 🙂LEMPICBREAKFAST2I took my time and really enjoyed breakfast instead of eating while opening the post or answering emails while looking at my watch. JUMPERHI changed again to go out and about. JUMPERHCLOSE2Zara Kids cotton jumper – it’s a great oatmeal colour, scarf, belt and snake slippers. JUMPERHPARKAThis was basically my travel outfit from the previous day. JUMPERHPARKA2Green parka is H&M Mens from last year. It’s a button up and the perfect transitional layer. My out and about post to follow.

Thanks for reading!

11 thoughts on “Small Town to Big City

  1. miss sophie

    you look gorgeous in all these photos! especially loving the snakeskin heels and your TDF Chanel caviar flap. did you buy it at the boutique, or was it a lucky preloved find?

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much! This one is a single flap that I found pre-owned but unused a couple of years ago. I think they stopped making the single flap and to me it’s a lot more practical and easier to use than the classic double flap not to mention lighter. So a very lucky find!

      Reply
  2. Sue

    You know that black angora cardigan on my post? Perfect for your cream silk blouse and black trouser ensemble! That’s my absolute favourite look on you.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you – I really appreciate the compliment! What did I say – Sue the Temptress? 🙂 Black angora would be grrreat! Just worried about washing it – it says hand wash but how much would you bet it turns out like an old brillo pad afterwards? Maybe a black cashmere cardi?

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Autumn Khaki, Grey and Blues | Silk Path Diary

  4. Pingback: Textures: Creams, Gold and Greens | Silk Path Diary

  5. Pingback: Casual Luxe | Silk Path Diary

  6. Pingback: Boxing Brocade | Silk Path Diary

  7. Pingback: Greys, Indigo and Brown | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

