Vintage Camel Cashmere Coat

CAMELI bought this coat more than a decade ago from *bay. It’s vintage Jaeger and made from pure cashmere. It’s one of my best finds and investment pieces. Over the years it’s never failed me and the quality is such that there are hardly any signs of wear. I never bothered with shortening the sleeves as I like them long anyway.CAMEL2It’s a little big for me in the last couple of years but I can’t stop wearing it so I turn it into a wrap over style when the cold really hits. Sorry for the out of focus shot, but here’s another post from last year. I really like it against the blue of my trousers.CAMEL3It saved my life when I went to Beijing one January, yes January, a few years ago. It was the coldest I’ve ever felt in all my life, colder than Wales even! And climbing the Great Wall of China was definitely an achievement…hmm….that’s twice I’ve done some major climbing ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for reading!

16 thoughts on “Vintage Camel Cashmere Coat

  1. Vix

    How fabulous! That coat reminds me of my Grandma, she was a very chic and elegant lady and loved her camel Jaeger coat! I’d love to see some pictures from your China adventure.

    Reply
  2. Sue

    Do you know, for some reason I always thought you had a Maxmara. I’m on the hunt for the perfect camel coat – still not found it and I’ve been looking for a lot of years. I keep saying that when I win the lottery, I’m just going to have mine handmade.

    And Beijing. I can imagine exactly how brrr that would have been.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Sue, you are perfectly right I DO have a Max Mara camel coat AS WELL! It’s double breast and slightly thicker – that’s different enough, right? lol! Seriously, I might give it to my mum because last time she came to stay she forgot to bring her coat and borrowed it – she looked really good! Anyway good luck with your search, I’m sure you’ll find it – for under ยฃ20! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  3. happyface313

    I’ve been looking for a coat like yours for ages (only the color doesn’t suit me) – it’s really nice and I understand why you like it so much. Great style!
    Happy Monday ๐Ÿ™‚ !

    Reply
  4. Denise Reed

    This is the kind of coat I love to own, it has charm, charater, and warmth—-I don’t need one here in warm San Antonio, TX, but I still want one. Looks great on you.

    Reply
  5. Jan Graham-McMillen

    If I didn’t admire your adorable self so much, I would be as annoyed and jealous of you as I am my husband … he of the vintage, camel cashmere coat he found in Seattle, years ago, and way too big for me to steal from him. What is it with you guys? Is it a supersensitive, psychic ability to sniff out the best stuff? Harrumph.
    Grudgingly, I must admit you look fabulous in it … very current, boyfriendy look with the longer, trench coat sleeve. Sigh.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Jan! It’s just one of those things. Even when I was a student, I found lovely coats (still have them) – at the time faced with a choice of syththetics with too long sleeves and a vintage coat with shorter sleeves, there was no contest! Your Dan has an excellent eye and taste! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much! No, the straps are closed underneath the flap. I never carry any of my Ks unfastened ๐Ÿ™‚ The 32 size means I can get fish out wallet/lipstick case/phone/pen/tissues etc..without having to unfasten the straps. If I need to then I’m usually at a table or counter and fasten up again. I can do the same with the 28 size, I think because of the leather – box and swift and because they are the retourne style. Not sure about a 28 sellier though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

