Asymmetry

WARMLAYERSI’ve long admired how wonderful Une Femme d’Un Certain Âge looks in her asymmetric jumpers. It’s a great way to update my classic look and last week Sue of Sue So So alerted us to this one by Mango. Here’s how she wore hers in oatmeal in size M. Mine is size S. I only had a sleeveless M&S thermal vest underneath and was quite warm and snug. The jumper is longer on me so we have a little excess around my hipline due to the friction of wearing a wool skirt, with jeans it hangs flatter.WARMLAYERS2The grey is turning more to white – do you think it’s the chlorine 🙂 My vintage camel skirt comes out every winter here. I took it up last year and this season wore it with some riding boots that are made of fleece lined PVC = warm and practical! They are by Däv and were at a great price from the Outnet in the Summer (I usually buy out of season). It’s really hard for me to find the right riding boot shape because of my short legs and calves a weightlifter would be proud of 🙂 So I chose the best practical answer. WARMLAYERS3 With peacoat and long scarf, check. I felt very comfortable in all the layers without any excessive bulk.WARMLAYERS4 I definitely needed something like this! Sorry for a lot more photos than usual – I don’t normally include more than 3, but wanted to be thorough. I had a warm jumper like this which I’ve given to my Tween along with a few others of mine so it was a chance to fill the vacancy with something more current, not edgy because it’s really not my aim 🙂WARMLAYERS5 My bag is vintage Céline that I treated, here’s the original post, so she’s shower proof.WARMLAYERS6Side view, check. The material is ever so slightly scratchy and not the best quality but hey, it’s Mango!WARMLAYERS7Back view, check. You can see the stretch inserts on the back of the boots that give them a really nice shape otherwise they would be more of a wellington. Goodness – I did brush my hair – honest!

Thanks for reading!

15 thoughts on “Asymmetry

  1. Fm

    I really like the asymmetrical hem on you – it works really well with your petite figure. But your hair is my favourite, it looks fantastic to me. I know I’ll be in the minority, but I’m all for a natural look.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much! I’ve never dyed my hair and can’t see the point of starting now. To be honest my hair is thinning – not that it was super thick ever in my life so I’m grateful whatever the colour maybe 🙂

      Reply
  2. Sue

    The jumper looks good on you and the size small is perfect. I would have liked the small but I think I can get away with the medium too – I have broad shoulders so can usually prop up clothes quite well. I think the alpaca is what makes the jumper a little more rough than just a regular lambswool – it’s not often that I buy something of this texture but I like the jumper enough to overlook this. And it’s amazing how you can take the same jumper (albeit in a different colour) and style it so differently.

    And thank you for the mention :o)

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      All thanks to you! I am trying not to repeat the same items in different colours (a bad habit) so not sad about the beige not working out this time. I’ve already worn it with jeans but wanted to make sure it works with my skirts too.

      Reply
  3. jangrahammcmillen

    Yes, completely wonderful. One little element and you go from cosy to amazing with one choice! Great sweater, no doubt, but all the better for your styling. I’d never have thought of the sherbet scarf …perfection. Love your Wellies. So glad to catch up with you, even for a moment. Desperately busy here!
    Have a grand week!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Simply Black and Navy | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

