Fitness & Health: Swim, 40+ Health Check and Gut Feelings

So, it’s going well – I’ve been good and swimming at least 3 times a week. At first it was pretty frustrating when the pool was crowded but once I worked out the least busy times from their timetable and adjusted my schedule, it became a lot easier and quicker. No swimsuit shots but you can see a difference in my outfit posts 🙂  I was very surprised at how soon I felt the benefits with more energy, clearer skin and overall tone. Well the challenge now is to add some gentle weight training – hello, baked bean tins – and something for flexibility.

In my area they give free healthchecks to the over 40s so I obediently booked myself in  a few weeks ago. It’s pretty basic – finger prick for blood cholestrol test, height, weight, waist, blood pressure measurements, questions about family health history and on alcohol consumption and exercise level and that was it. Based on all that, they assess and calculate your risk and mine came out as 1% BUT since my blood cholestrol was 5.47 – national average should be 5, I have to try to lower it by not eating red meat more than once a week, reduce cheese, cut out butter and full fat milk etc..I think this is fine since I’m already trying to reduce the meat consumption. However, I had been using normal butter with my kids and eating cheesy pizzas with them so obviously I can’t get away with that anymore! I think it’s the start and has given me actions I can take immediately which is always encouraging and an indication of more longterm goals.

At random I read a short article about how doctors found out that if cancer patients had their digestive system shielded or protected during chemo sessions, they suffered less from the side effects. I don’t know about you but as a lay person, I know a person’s digestive system is pretty important, I mean they can replace most organs in a body but not your whole gut yet, even if they can tamper with it. We all know what healthy foods to eat but I’m not sure it’s common knowledge what’s best from our stomach’s point of view. I read once that if our cheeks blush, so does our stomach. You have euphemisms, stereotypes and old wives’ tales but they all have a common message – treat your gut well and with respect! There are many expressions concerning our stomachs, ‘knots’, ‘butterflies’, and one of my favourite quotes from history by Queen Elizabeth I, ‘I know I have but the body of a weak and feeble woman, but I have the heart and stomach of a king, and of a king of England too.’

And so I press on….regardless because of the eating and drinking season to come very soon 🙂

Thanks for reading!

7 thoughts on “Fitness & Health: Swim, 40+ Health Check and Gut Feelings

  1. Style At Every Age

    My cholesterol is way off scale 7 point something but I am not giving up anything, I love butter and cream way too much! I refuse to take statins as someone told me they give cancer to rats. My doctor informed me I am not a rat but still ignore him. You only live once, it’s all down to gene’s. This makes me sound ignorant but I know so many people dead or dying of cancer that have never smoked and lived a relatively healthy life x

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      I hear you Sharron! That’s why I don’t believe in diets. If it’s a negative process surely it’s more harmful to the whole wellbeing of a person. It’s also true that even if you have good genes, you may be stuck in a bad environment or vice versa xx

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Mid Life | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

