New Year’s Eve Textures

NYE Hope you all had a fantastic NYE! I’ve been waiting impatiently to wear this outfit! It’s a Winter version of this. The recently acquired H&M angora cardi was a breakthrough in several ways on its own but it was the perfect cover up reviewed by Sue So so (thanks again Sue!). I only have one other long black cardi that’s part of a twin set I hardly ever wear but when I read about this cardi, I just knew it was something that my closet needed 🙂 NYE4It was out of stock online for weeks but my diligence paid off when it popped back up and I ordered it only to find out several days later that it was never there afterall and would not be re-stocked. H&M Customer Service gave me a discount on my other order to show how sorry they were.  NYE3I don’t give up so easily and kept checking like a thing possessed. It popped back in again and this time I even found a discount code to use ha! It really was there so I finally got it.NYE6Base of black silk shirt by Theory, feels heavenly and the stretchy sequins are the perfect solution for the *ahem* expanding waistline. NYECOAT5This is a vintage Aquascutum pure wool coat I found on *bay a few years ago here. I couldn’t believe no one else wanted it. The wool is delectable but tough, the buttons still bright and it has a proper matching buckle belt. See the sleeves 🙂 NYECOAT4I could look at vintage coats all day! I should wear it a lot more…with heels. These booties are by Michael Kors that I’ve had for a long time but struggled to wear. I never thought to wear them with sequins and a vintage coat before!NYECOAT3I just tied my beloved silk neckerchief around the handle of the Hermès croco Vasco for protection and a touch of detail. The only jewels are a vintage diamante star burst brooch and similar earrings. I always shied away from patterned hosiery because well, I was basically afraid of patterns on most things and didn’t think they would flatter my legs. I still don’t think much of my legs but it no longer matters. Watch out for some fishnets too 🙂

Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “New Year’s Eve Textures

  1. Sue

    Love the colour of the sequin skirt – so much nicer than a typical black one. And the Angora cardi was good wasn’t it? Lucky you – I never managed to get my hands on one but I admire your persistence. I shall admire from afar.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Sue – even the sleeves are the right length so it was fate. It’s definitely one of the best High Street finds of last year…so when are you going shopping again? 🙂

      Reply
  2. Veshoevius

    Fab New Years outfit! I love the sequin skirt and your Theory blouse – and well done on persisting with getting that cardi! Just goes to show it can pay off!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Veshoevius! Somehow I knew you would approve of the sequins 🙂 I loved it for years but never found the right pieces, not even the smallest bit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

