If at first you don’t succeed….

MIDISKIRTHope you all had a fantastic New Year’s celebrations! Wishing you all Health, Happiness and Prosperity! My 2014 Style Resolution  begun already last week of mixing and matching. This is an old (circa 2006) Ted Baker pure wool pleated skirt, scarf and boots are relatively new. But erm no…not quite what I had in mind….MIDISKIRT4Better…I tucked the jumper (H&M Men) in properly and pulled on the knee boots (Sergio Rossi).MIDISKIRT6My youngest was about a year old when I became obessessed with this skirt. It’s well tailored, lined, pure wool with wonderful details of pockets, pleats AND thigh high front split. I drove right across the city to a branch that had my size which was quite an achievement back then with 3 kids under 4 in tow.MIDISKIRT2A black pleated skirt is a classic wardrobe stable for me and I’m glad I never shortened it because now I feel it’s right to wear it below the knee this way. Originally, the skirt fitted me on the waist but now it sits below which works out fine.MIDISKIRT3Creating an A line shape is good because it reverses my broad shoulders enough to balance out my silhouette. LACEKNEEIt’s always good to have something to show when there’s a split 😉 I’m loving my little stash of patterned tights so much but I already tore these. SHAWL A close up of the shawl also here.MIDISKIRT5Using the orange Banana Republic scarf for a brighter accent.WINTERROSEAnd to complete my Winter days, this little rose bloomed. We had quite a thick frost this morning but it didn’t do any harm at all. WINTERROSE2Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “If at first you don’t succeed….

  1. Sue

    Ah good to hear it’s not me that goes a bit mad when I have something in mind and I have to have it. I applaud your diligence and your madness to take three kids with you to get the skirt. I agree that the skirt looks better with the boots – it’s the perfect length for wearing with long boots actually. And for a girl who doesn’t do much colour, I actually prefer the Banana Republic orange shawl to the paler hued shawl. Wonders will never cease eh?

    Hope you’re having a great 2014 so far, I was abducted by friends over the New Year period who plied me with good food and drink but have managed to get back home now. Phew.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Sue! It’s far too good a skirt to waste and so easy to wear. I think you’re right about the orange.
      So hope you’ve recovered from your abduction 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

