Basics: Navy, Grey, Brown and Bright

BLUORANGEGREYLooking back, I did not manage without these casual pieces that became my basics: peacoat, bf jeans and low cowboy ankle boots. The grey Gap 1969 bf jeans are on rotation with the rest and since the weather has been relatively mild, if wet, on the days between downpours, the J Crew ‘Majesty’ peacoat and recent Sam Edelman ‘Petty’ ankle boots, have been sufficient. BLUORANGEGREY2I can’t believe how easy it is to dress for the casual day when I used to struggle trying to get it together! And colour – how afraid I used to be even though I have a few favourite brights. A little flash or streak of orange goes a very long way…. 🙂BLUORANGEGREY3I always try to keep it as simple as possible but accessories are my saviours – to think they were an afterthought! The J Crew peacoat was the only survivor among my only ever order a few years ago. I found their clothes varied wildly in quality and fit. Out of the chaos was this gem of a coat. It was so refreshing to wear something that didn’t amplify my broad shoulders or had sleeves down to my knees.BLUORANGEGREY4I’m all American labels today except for the brown belt and Kelly 32. J Crew is still making the peacoat so I’m trying to resist looking out for a grey version…

Thanks for reading!

21 thoughts on “Basics: Navy, Grey, Brown and Bright

  1. ladysarahinlondon

    Not a fun of j crew either. Their clothes do vary wildly in sizing and quality as you say. Anything I ve ever ordered from them is now gracing some oxfam shop or other. Is this a new Kelly? Black or navy?

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      I’ve only got 2 other J Crew things and they were flukes! This is a 32 navy box from 1980 I found over a year ago and required only minimal treatment with the Docride method.

      Reply
  2. Veshoevius

    Oooh the navy coat, orange scarf and navy Kelly! What a combination! Very chic! The “right” double breasted navy pea coat with gold buttons has been a bit of search for the holy grail for me – so thanks for the tip off on the J Crew version. I never bought anything from J Crew before so it was interesting to hear that you found them varying in quality as everyone seems to be plugging them left right and centre (and they are not cheap!)

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much dear Veshoevius! I just got lucky with this particular style and it was in the sale, it’s a few years old now and I have no idea what the current quality is like – haven’t been to their London store yet to check in person. The pea coat is about the best option for small town/London living and/or car users. I normally wear 2 scarves if it’s very cold anyway so the length isn’t an issue at all. The top button fell off but that’s my own fault, it’s actually a very good button with a proper little button to anchor at the back 🙂

      Reply
  3. Jan Graham-McMillen

    I’m seeing orange and navy everywhere, and never anywhere better than on you. So glad this combination has some staying power. Love the pea-coat, and have never had one. I’m inspired, as always. There’s a J Crew some hours away, but the few times I’ve been in haven’t been exciting.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank so much dear Jan! I really love orange if you haven’t already guessed 🙂 The peacoat style is soooo very useful as I replied above. With J Crew you have to be very picky but there are some great pieces – good luck with that!

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Closet Basics: Cream and Navy | Silk Path Diary

  5. Pingback: Long Black Coat | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

