A Modern Step: Leather and Suede

I meant to post something about Updating and Modernising one’s closet by way of discussing this point reached in my own journey, but I’ll simply show a look that somehow emerged on Sunday morning.

Linking to Patti’s Not Dead Yet Style for Visible Monday

LEATHERSUEDEI knew what I wanted to wear on top and on my feet but struggled with the bottoms rejecting all the skirts until I got to this leather one also here. It felt instantly right and I don’t know if it’s a coincidence that leather and suede do so much together!  LEATHERSUEDESIDE There’s even scope for a more luxe feel with my grey cashmere jumper instead of thick cotton here (Gap Men) or a silk scarf or necklace. I love that the skirt has pockets and the boots allow me the option to wear shorter lengths (shock, horror!).LEATHERSUEDE2This style of knee boots – by Lanvin from Matches Fashion, post up on Wednesday 29th January – is a classic I’ve long admired on others and now I’m so glad to be able to wear them finally! The best thing is the hidden wedge which gives someone my height an essential but discreet extra few inches without compromising comfort – on the contrary they are more comfortable with a little heel than flat.LEATHERSUEDECLOSE2The proportion feels good so I must keep it in mind. The leather of the skirt isn’t the best in the world but you know what, it doesn’t matter! I would have preferred to find it pre-owned or vintage but couldn’t. The mix may not be earth shattering but for me, represents an important milestone.LEATHERSUEDE3 The look works with a much loved vintage Aran cardigan. This was all I needed on such a mild day though later I almost got caught in pouring rain. I feel like it’s a significant milestone in my style journey because I need an update to my classic look and an element of modernity but without trying too hard or looking inappropriate.LEATHERSUEDECLOSE

Thanks for reading!

20 thoughts on “A Modern Step: Leather and Suede

  1. happyface313

    This is a look I really like on you! Great combination – suits you very well. The boots are lovely and I wouldn’t mind a pair like them 😉
    Have a very HAPPY Sunday! 🙂

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much Glenda for taking the time to visit and comment! I DO have a creative background and am a committed lover of classic style but towards the end of last year felt a strong need to update myself.

      Reply
  2. trinagrandinetti

    This match with your suede boots and leather skirt is perfection! Just the right balance in every way, even the subtle difference in color tone and texture is wonderful. Well done, cute lady.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much Trina! I’ve started in a slightly new direction and it’s important for me to maintain the right balance – glad you like how it worked out here 🙂

      Reply
  3. Sue

    Ooh – really love this combination on you. The skirt is just perfect and the boots? The boots are heavenly – the colour is really stunning on them. One of my favourite outfits on you, you know.

    Reply
  4. Jan Graham-McMillen

    You just define cool. Really admirable outfit, and your elements make for something so special. Way beyond everyday casual, but effortless chic at it’s best. I’ve been looking for a similar skirt, and have even thought about making one. I can’t find soft enough faux leather here yet.
    Of course, I love the boots. Again… you remind me why you’re a petite style-icon in my book.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Closet 2014: Matches Fashion – Shopping List 2/3 | Silk Path Diary

  6. Pingback: Closet 2014: 3 Shades of Grey | Silk Path Diary

  7. Pingback: Tweed and Suede | Silk Path Diary

  8. Pingback: Leather, Suede and Cashmere | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

