Vintage Tweed Coat

TWEEDLinking to Patti’s Not Dead Yet Style for Visible Monday

I thrifted this check tweed coat a while ago last year here and was going to shorten the sleeves but changed my mind. I really, really dislike alterations of any kind and can’t even remember why I wanted to do it in the first place. Anyway, it feels sooo good to wear it now. As with most vintage items, they look better worn with modern basics. TWEED3It’s a little big on me but I like the roominess although I cannot always carry off the *oversized* look. The brand is Wetherall and you can find them readily on *bay where I found this coat. The material is superb quality, superior to what is available now I daresay and the construction a joy to behold!TWEED4Being petite means vintage clothes and accessories fit better to my scale and shape. Vintage coats are among my very best finds. This coat is deliciously warm!TWEED5 I’ve got on a total pick n mix today: vintage silk scarf, Zara Girls jumper, Gap 1969 Always Skinny jeans and Belle Sigerson Morrison suede wedge booties. These green booties don’t seem to clash with the coat maybe because of the ochre yellow part of the check?DALVYCLOSEThe lines of the Hermรจs Dalvy here, here and here always fill me with happiness! I’m really working through my closet to mix and match the old, really old and newer, but still old pieces if you know what I mean ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for reading!

31 thoughts on “Vintage Tweed Coat

  1. Vix

    Those soft colours look lovely on you and they’re perfect to lift the February gloom! My cape is a 1960s Wetherall and I love it. x

    Reply
  2. happyface313

    This coat looks lovely on you, as do the other things you’re showing here. You’ve got a great eye and hand for your vintage finds! Good luck always!
    Have a very HAPPY Sunday ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. Jan Graham-McMillen

    Wonderful coat, and you are right … it works perfectly. Tell me more about how vintage makes for easier dressing for petites, please, and when and if you have time. Love to hear more about it. Or, a post maybe? Anyway, lovely you and cozy to boot!
    The boots do work well … as much as the color, I think it’s the tone and similar degrees of saturation in your solids! You can get away with non-traditional color combinations when the tones are the same!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much dear Jan! I will put together some info for a post or will keep as reference on my vintage page. Briefly, in the old days, the average woman was shorter therefore the proportions of vintage clothes are more aligned with us petites – we don’t have to worry about the length of a coat or sleeve length which are both a constant sourse of frustrations for me with modern versions. Even with shorter bracelet length sleeves during the 50’s/60’s, we can still wear them so it’s a win win situation. Also something which I particularly like is that the shoulders tend to be more natural = narrower compared to jackets/coats produced currently. Hope that helps for now Jan!

      Reply
  4. GK

    Love your vintage coat, lovely colours for dreary weather! Your hair looks fabulous and healthy too – lucky you! I sometimes think shopping for vintage items more fun that buying new. The idea you have something not found easily makes it all the more special as far as I’m concerned. I used to have a tweed Aquascutum long coat, but gave away and I’ve regretted it since!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much! You’re right, spotting a vintage gem gives me such a thrill and you really cannot beat the ‘Heritage’ brands for classic quality. I think this year I can’t ignore my hair anymore and be more proactive about it somehow.

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Lilac and Neutrals | Silk Path Diary

  6. Pingback: Spring: Lighten Up | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

