Twilly Tying

K28BDPI’m a fan of using a twilly on the handle because they add a splash of colour and pattern while serving the purpose of protecting the leather. It took a while to learn the basics of how to tie one on, I think there are several ways depending on personal preferance and the handle in question but here is how I do it. TWILLKNOTAnchor one end with a knot to the metal loop of the handle (not to the loop for the strap attachment). You have to guess how much of a ‘tail’ to leave at first. TWILLKNOT2 Wrap the twilly around neither too slack nor too tightly…you may have to unravel and re-wrap if you find you’ve overlapped too much or too little.TWILLKNOT3Once you reach the other end, loop around the metal like this. TWILLKNOT5Sometimes you can get away with just pulling the end tight but as I have a long enough tail, I loosened it again to tie a knot around the metal ring. TWILLKNOT6It results in a more secure anchor like at the beginning. TWILLKNOT7Done! This twilly is called L’Art Indien des Plaines. Don’t expect the twilly to stay tight all the time because a bit of loosening will occur over time and use. I generally leave them on as I don’t really have to time to chop and change but it’s a nice way to compliment your outfits or vary the look of your bags.

Thanks for reading!

17 thoughts on “Twilly Tying

      1. silkpathdiary Post author

        Aahhh squeal Green. Box. Kelly! Oh my πŸ™‚ You might be able to find a photo of my black box Kelly with a twilly that has white, fuchsia pink and black in it – forgot the name of the pattern but the black can take stronger patterns and colours than one thinks. I would love to see reds, lemons, golds and deep pinks – even purples with your green K. Or you could always go neutral for both. The good thing about twillies is that you can go brighter/louder than you may consider for a scarf. Try them all!

      2. silkpathdiary Post author

        Absolutely! I saw one of the sales ladies show a customer different ways to tie the twilly on the wrist so it’s something they seem happy to ‘sell’. But I would go at the least busy times of course to ensure they can give you all the attention you need – 10am on a weekday?

    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you very much for dropping by and taking the time to comment! I do use all my things so I’m not a collector in that sense of the word – I say ‘collector’ because I love H bags so much and was looking for specific styles/colours/leathers.

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      You’re very welcome πŸ™‚ There are other ways I’m sure and I haven’t even thought about how to do it with handles that have no rings to anchor.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Closet 2014: 3 Shades of Grey | Silk Path Diary

  2. Pingback: A Rainbow in My Bag | Silk Path Diary

  3. Pingback: Blue Flash | Silk Path Diary

  4. Pingback: Scarf Love | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

