Kelly: Brique

K28BRIQUE Showing a more true to the colour – than my last post – of Brique which is quite difficult to identify due to confusion with a similar colour. There’s an added complication of different types of leathers altering the colour again but this is the case for many Hermès colours. Also certain ‘classic’ colours such as a burgundy red, has a slightly different tone depending on when it was produced. K28BRIQUE3As with the sellier style, when I first saw this colour, I did not like it. It took a while for me to understand that everyone has a red that is uniquely theirs. Brique is my red! I’ll wear it with greys, navy, cream, beige, tan and khaki – oh especially greens and blue denim 🙂 I like to wear all my bags casually everyday. However, there is one very special occasion that I’m planning for this one in the near future.K28BRIQUE2I’m sure a vintage brique would be different but feel so incredibly lucky to find this one. Maybe the reason why I didn’t like the colour at first was because the hardware was gold, I’m not sure but it was in the early days when I had precious little idea of the importance of details and balance. BRIDETAIL2 I couldn’t resist a close up against my thrifted vintage embroidered pillow case.BRIQUEDUOThey seem to be exactly the same colour but irl, the Plume is a little lighter due to the nature of the chêvre leather it’s made of. Oh, maybe they can be my travel set 🙂

Thanks for reading!

14 thoughts on “Kelly: Brique

    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you very much! I fear the ‘hunting’ process is never exciting for me at all, quite the opposite in fact. This is from a reseller I’ve used several times before over a 2 year period but of course you should always do the necessary checks. It’s not easy since they happen to be rather bland – generic – in their colour description and so ‘brown’ will suffice to cover every shade from ‘gold’ to ‘noisette’!

      Reply
  1. rukshanaafia

    What do you recommend for handbag care ? I have inherited some very high quality bags from my mother – mostly entirely unworn – and would like to keep them in good condition . Yours always look so pristine ! I’m good with shoes but handbags are something else .

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much for visiting and your comment! I haven’t done anything to this particular bag yet, it happens to be in good condition overall but the leather is a little dry. My ‘treatment’ was learnt from The Purse Forum (perhaps you can check for the brands of your bags there and any care they suggest?) and is geared mostly towards Hermes leathers so I would hesitate to recommend anything for your bags without knowing the leather (s) they are made of. As far as I know the good quality creams are used equally for bags and fine leather shoes/boots. There is a system to maintaining the bags and correctly storing them will also help to keep them in good order. I’m sorry I couldn’t be more specific.

      Reply
      1. ladysarahinlondon

        May I just add, be very careful about applying products on leather. If they don’t need anything it’s best to just let them be. I have seen people ruin very nice leather items, with overenthusiastic application of protectors and nourishing creams, that were simply wrong for the m.

      2. silkpathdiary Post author

        Excellent point Sarah! I think if the bags are unused the priority would be to store correctly at this point. Also I forgot to emphasise that most of my bags are vintage and were not maintained – which is not to say they were wrecked but it meant they did need some tlc to prevent further deterioration and to make them as lovely as can be again 🙂

  2. happyface313

    The colour is amazing and what I’ve seen from you so far, it goes perfectly with all the things you wear and have. The bag is beautiful. May I know how old it is? Did you buy it vintage?
    Have a very HAPPY day, my dear 🙂

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much! The year is 2002 which is almost ‘brand new’ for a vintage lover like me 🙂 So this bag will not become officially vintage until 2022. Hope you enjoyed a wonderful trip!

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much! It’s a very special colour for sure. The red is more rusty than a true pure red and some would call it reddish brown and not a red at all in fact – I quote Juliet, ‘ A rose by any other name would smell as sweet’. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Pingback: A Rainbow in My Bag | Silk Path Diary

  4. Monique

    Your beautiful Kelly Brique has sparked desire in my heart and I hope I can get one in the future! 🙂 The price of Kelly seems creeping up quite a lot in recent years and it is hard to find one in as good condition as yours. You are a very lucky girl! May I ask if it is hard to use Kelly box when you are with small children?

    Reply
  5. silkpathdiary Post author

    Thank you very much Monique! I didn’t own any Hermes bags at all when my children were very small. They were out of pushchairs and into school when I started *collecting* my Kelly’s, so I only know using them with older children which has never been a problem so far. That’s why I prefer the shoulder strap option for a start.
    In terms of box leather, there are differences between those from different years/decades eg the very vintage box is more hardwearing in my experience whereas ones from the early 90’s seem to show the smallest marks.
    In real life, this Brique Kelly is a lighter, slightly less intense colour and more a soft orange rust.
    Yes, the prices are almost double from about 4 years ago 😦 Best of luck with finding yours!!

    Reply
    1. Monique

      Thank you kindly for your reply! Yes, I agree with crazy price on Kelly. I have only 20 and 32; and without Kelly 28, I feel less complete😔. I will become first-time mom within next year 😊( thank to my hubby and all magical) and while I love Kelly 28 Box, I’m afraid my baby boy would kick it repeatedly while I’m holding him in my arms😱. I may have to wait and see. Meanwhile, I may have to visit your blog often just to admire your Kelly collection. Really love your Hermes collection!
      Merry Christmas to you and your family!😊
      Monique

      Reply

Leave a Reply

