Shirtdress: Denim and Boots

DENIMDRESS3 I’ve been dying to wear this Banana Republic denim dress for the last few weeks, everyday the sun shone brightly and warmly (or so I thought from the cosiness of bed), I flung it on only to be forced back to change into warmer layers. I finally got to wear it if only briefly the other day. And it’s no coincidence if my look has a 70’s flavour 🙂 These Bally boots have been waiting patiently to come out too. I found them on *bay last year and the fit is perfect. Bally is one of my all time favourite go to brands for footwear. They’re more beige irl with the perfect height of stacked heels.DENIMDRESS6 My Céline shoulder bag is also a little retro looking by chance and the big chain strap is the perfect length for me. All I need are some big hoop earrings and maybe a little shaggy waistcoat?DENIMDRESS5I’ve always loved dresses and the shirt style gives a tailored touch that can be easily dressed up or down. It’s an investment and took me several seasons to find. At first I wasn’t too happy with the shirt tail hem but now I actually like it!

DENIMDRESS4It fulfills my requirements: long sleeves, shirt collar, pockets and a mid blue colour – not too dark or too pale. A bonus was a heavy discount at the time and the quality is excellent. DENIMDRESS2I tried it with the Sam Edelman booties in stone nubuck for a more casual look when I was running around with my children. I’m sure it’s going to be my go to dress this year!DENIMDRESS

Thanks for reading!

16 thoughts on “Shirtdress: Denim and Boots

  1. Sue

    I’ve done the same every day – been itching to pull something a little lighter and warmer to wear and then had to change at the last moment as the weather is a little colder than first anticipated.

    Loving the 70s vibe here. Hopefully it will be warm enough for my denim dress too, soon.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Sue! I’d love a tunic denim dress as well but fear I’ll never find the right fit combo for my shoulders and long enough to the knees.

      Reply
  2. GK

    You look great in this outfit and in this style! Love 70s style. Hope the weather stays nice enough that the dress gets plenty of outings. 🙂

    Reply
  3. ladysarahinlondon

    Wondering if one could frost proof this outfit by adding cashmere tights and a coat. I had the same experience, today as I went out wearing a dress and nearly had hypothermia. Still cold where I am…. Cuddling up with lady Beatrice and a cup of tea, right now.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Another New Year: Camel, Khaki and Beige – Day and Night | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

