Home Sweet Home: a dream

We moved into our current home in 2011 and before this I’ve lived in a total of 14 other places in my life. I couldn’t believe it and had to recount …. and it looks like we’re going to need to move again soon. Believe me, it’s not something we decided on easily. In 2010, we had to move twice in 6 months and I’m not sure I’ve got over the resulting trauma 4 years on. Also I’m probably one of the least adventurous people you’ll ever come across – you’ll find me at home ideally in my favourite chair with a book nursing a hot drink – that’s why I was shocked to have lived in so many places. All the same, the main reasons are that we need more living space for the children who will soon morph into 3 teens practically at the same time being so close in age and that we want somewhere to retire to ….. hence the extra space needed for a safe distance away from a trio of teens. WINTERROSETeens + retirement is the result of late motherhood or in actual medical terms, geriatric primagravida or pregnancy. Truly charming as only medical terms can be, no? My 3 kids aren’t ‘Irish twins’ but there’s still less than 2 years’ gap between them. If my own teen experiences are anything to go by, we’re in for a very bumpy ride and I wanted to prepare for it on the physical home front at least. Each of them will want their own space and see/speak to parents as little as possible – fine, I’d like to have a choice of far flung corners of the kitchen or lounge or a music room for them to go to when not holed up in their bedrooms.

TABLEGatherings with friends and family are really important to us. They centre invariably around food and celebration but I also want to be spontaneous and accommodating on a more everyday basis. I’m not very good at spontanaeity at the best of times 🙂SETTINGBesides, for such a small person, I’ve always craved a disproportionate amount of space. Maybe I’ve got undiagnosed claustophobia, no idea, but it’s always been something I’m aware of. For as long as I can remember, I dreamt of a home big enough for the brood, family, friends and visitors alike, that I’d be able to potter around and enjoy looking after. In the scheme of things I am very grateful to have a home already, of course. Suffice to say I have been touched by fear and insecurity of having no home at all as a small child because of a war. But do you ever think about where you’d like to retire and end your days? Time passes by faster and faster the older we get and one day I may be blessed enough to wake up to the cries of little grandbabies …. if we survive the teen years! It’s about planning for the future and making more happy memories for us all. We’ve found a place, somewhere that felt immediately comfortable, somewhere to put heirlooms and roots down finally. But I don’t know if my dream will come true. We’ve done everything possible to realise it so the rest is up to the Universe.

Thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home: a dream

  1. Vix

    I can’t imagine what it must have been like for you as a child. I don’t envy you your move at all and would hate to think what a move twice in a year would be like. My brother and I are only 18 months apart, fought like cat and dog as kids but are ridiculously alike now. Bet your will be the same. Good luck! x

    Reply
  2. silkpathdiary Post author

    Thank you so much dear Vix! My 2 eldest boy and girl are the same, constant bickering, although my Tween loves her little brother to death, the feeling’s not mutual so I do hope in time it will change. xx

    Reply
  3. GK

    Best of luck in finding a home where you and your family can settle in. Will your children have to change schools or will you remain in the same location? We’ve moved often over the years and I don’t mind so long as schooling isn’t disrupted, though sometimes it is unavoidable. It’s sort of fun to set up house in a new location. I used to think I wanted to find a big home to retire to and where my children could return for holidays and gatherings, but now I think I don’t want to own any home at all and just want to travel and live nomadically. My children are big and have their own lives and I think we will end up going to visit them more than they come to visit us. Plus if they have families one day it is easier for us to go to them. But who knows what the future will bring? 🙂

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you very much for sharing your experiences 🙂 Should this move happen there won’t be any need for a change of school or any of their out of school activities either. Obviously that’s a major consideration especially since they had to change schools twice when we moved as many times in 6 months. My parents have been moving around visiting us kids in turn quite successfully over the years but when it comes to our turn, should my own kids settle with their respective families, we would be rather old – 70-80 years (late parenthood!) therefore would find it less easy to travel far. Of course it may not work out at all like that but we can only try our best! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Pingback: The Long Road Home | Silk Path Diary

  5. Pingback: On the Move | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

