Happy Mother’s Day (UK) – Let the music play!

STUDDED It’s Mothering Sunday in the UK today and I had no better treat than my children participating in their end of term music concert. I took the chance to wear the studded pointy toe flats.PURPLEBOWS This time the dress theme was purple, usually it’s orchestra black and white. The calibre of performance is incredible and achingly moving. Since I do not possess one note of musical talent I’m doubly proud of my own children’s achievements and feel completely overwhelmed by the brilliance of all the performers as well as the dedication of the teachers. Surely one of the most precious things in the world is the privilege of hearing children and young adults play their instruments and sing to you. It never ceases to amaze me. My favourites are the piano, strings and voice.VIOLIN2I wasn’t the only one wearing studded shoes….. H&M Girl’s blouse and shoes, Monsoon skirt and cardigan is vintage Kookai – yes, it was mine back in the early 90’s and has lasted well enough to pass on to my darling Tween. I have it in a grey version too – some habits never change.MONOThe Boy refused to tuck his shirt in….I failed to get a decent shot of Sweetie but she’s directly behind him. Shirt and trousers are school uniform items and the waistcoat was part of his outfit worn for a wedding 2 years ago. The tie is a dark purple. He badly needs a haircut so I suppose he’s channeling the dishevelled musician look πŸ™‚ANGORASILKPATTERNSTUDSThe whole outfit: Jaeger patterned silk shirt, H&M angora cardigan, Zara trousers and Giacomorelli studded flats. I wore some dangly earrings and felt comfortable with just the right amount of dressy. I hope you get a lovely treat today!

Thanks for reading!

12 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day (UK) – Let the music play!

  1. rukshanaafia

    Yes I remember my parents telling me ‘wait ’til you have to go to a school concert’ as a dire threat but when it came to it I thoroughly enjoyed going to the end of year offerings at son’s school . But I was never sure what was appropriate to wear !

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      It can be daunting! I suppose it depends where the concert is, mostly it’s at school, occasionally at a church like this time. The timing is also a factor usually late afternoon for a couple of hours – a funny time. Last time I wore a dress but it’s more casual although smart and conversative so that’s why I thought the softly tailored pants would be better.

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much and I really wish I could upload the recordings we made too! My kids are intermediate level but some of the teens are already studying music as their vocation and are superb – I daresay future stars in the making.

      Reply
  2. GK

    Aww, your children look lovely! I can’t think of a better Mother’s Day treat than enjoying music made by your children. I love your outfit too – did you tie the ends of the shirt, or does it come styled like that? It looks really nice!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much! I almost always tie my shirts like this as you’ll see from other posts. It just makes it more casual and less conservative even though they are classic silk blouses or cotton shirts. If I’m wearing a shirt, I’ll make the tie higher at the waist for balance.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

