Review: Linen Shirts

KSPORT3 Recently, I went looking for a linen shirt or blouse. I had a white linen shirt decades ago and wore it so much it frayed and tore. It was incredibly useful and it’s time to find a replacement. I started off in TK Maxx with a navy collarless style, it wasn’t linen – rayon – but it had the same kind of floppiness I like. Huge.KSPORT4This is linen and felt very lovely, however, it was a size too big and the front panel was so badly sewn I couldn’t overlook it!KSPORT5Shame. KSPORT7Next I found myself in Marks and Spencer and if you know my stance on them, you’d be surprised! Anyway, I was in the men’s department first and picked up a linen shirt in the XP size but it’s still too big. KSPORT8Really too big. KSPORT9This is their women’s blouse that has shaped sides. It was the only style they had in white available in that particular branch. KSPORT10It’s the best so far but I fear it may be too short on average height ladies?KSPORT11 I tried the shirt version but the stripes would be too limiting for me.KSPORT12Shame they didn’t have a plain white version.KSPORT6 And this is how I started off. KSPORT2Thanks for reading!

18 thoughts on “Review: Linen Shirts

    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Creases seem to divide people 🙂 – I happen to like the them! I’ve got a white linen dress by The White Company which I love wearing every year so I can’t really justify buying a shirt while I have many others though not linen. xx

      Reply
  1. Sue

    Is there any particular criteria with your white linen shirts? I bought myself one from Uniqlo just recently and their size small was a perfect fit for me. The right side of fitted but not overly so. I don’t mind linen creasing – it’s a given and it’s always lovely to wear.

    I agree with putting back the linen shirt with the badly sewn panel – bad stitching is just a big no in my eyes.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Just a plain shirt with a collar preferably but it must not be sheer. I love the cool and fresh feel of linen and have a linen dress so that’s why I haven’t bothered before with replacing the shirt. I haven’t had any luck at all with Uniqlo lol!

      Reply
  2. ladysarahinlondon

    Very useful post. Uniqlo shirts are pretty good for the price, but I find most of the low priced brands are horrendously ugly. Those cheaper brands that use sweat shop labour have no quality control, and we get what we pay for.

    Reply
      1. ladysarahinlondon

        You just have higher standards, than most of us. Their linen shirts are ok – but not amazing. They are simple working shirts. My husband gets his linen shirts for work from there, but we send them out to be ironed.

    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks – I like the fit too but would prefer a plain colour. I always wear linen palazzo pants in the Summer and on holiday – love the coolness while keeping my legs covered.

      Reply
  3. Jill

    Oh I love linen in summer, and one of the main reasons is that I don’t have to iron it! I love the J. Crew perfect shirt in linen. It’s a terrific shirt.

    Reply
  4. GK

    I was just browsing online for linen shirts yesterday and found nothing. I think I like the idea of linen more than the application of it because I never seem to find a tunic that I like. The wrinkles don’t bother me, but it’s hard to find a nice style in linen for me.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      It’s true – a linen tunic would be really good and versatile! Sometimes it’s hardest to find something specific that’s also a decent quality. Good luck!

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Shopping List: Spring/Summer 2015 | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

