Spring Basics: Neutrals and Pink

BLACKBROGUESWardrobe basics are now well established for me after almost 3 years of Closet Editing: jumpers in this case a grey Gap Men pure cashmere, black tailored pants by Zara (part of a trio I bought in the Summer sale 2 Summers ago) and black brogues. It was important to have bare ankles with this look to keep it Spring like even though it was cold and rained. The pants also here where I tried to make them work with heels but they don’t! Better with flats.BLACKBROGUES3 I needed a warm, hooded weather proof coat that’s casual but not too casual such as the parka style and machine washable. I almost bought the same one as my mother’s from M&S before it sold out then spotted this one immediately after – yep, at Gap Men!BLACKBROGUES2It’s actually 2 coats in one with a removeable inner quilted lining that can be worn as a hooded jacket on its own. It is just GREAT! My mother was a bit miffed it’s cheaper than hers! The bag is vintage Céline that I keep going back to. The box leather has acquired a patina and the whole bag is so well balanced. BLACKBROGUESCLOSEYou can see the quilted lining better here. If I had one criticism, it’s that the zip could be sturdier especially with it being a man’s coat. I’m wearing jade drop earrings that were a 30th birthday present from my parents – that was 17 years ago – you know you’re getting old when everything you own starts turning vintage 🙂 The new to me Hermès scarf is called ‘Rive Fertile’ with the most gorgeous colour combination of deep raspberry pink (a favourite pink of mine), burgundy and a soft orange with ivory figures. The seller had insisted it was red but I knew it would be pink! My photo shows it as being a rather shallow pink because of the sheen of silk.

Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “Spring Basics: Neutrals and Pink

  1. jangrahammcmillen

    Those little brogues are amazingly feminine on your tiny little feet. Interesting how scale can make that happen, yes? Very cool and well constructed coat (carcoat? anorak?) Surely you won’t need it too much longer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

