Packing in Mind + Gap 30% Off Alert

I am a better packer these days and I’m always on the lookout for tips on how to improve. Although I rarely travel or spend time away from home in the last few years, my kids are now at an age where they’re away from home officially on various school trips, sleep overs with family and friends. I’m still hopeless with packing their bags! Admittedly it’s always easier with school trips because they provide an actual packing list. In the case of my Tween, her toiletries and medication exceed the norm but can’t be helped. Her latest trip was a 3 night stay in a tent at an activities centre – I’ve been dreading it since the announcement several months ago. It turned out fine – the only clothes she didn’t wear were just a few packed specifically for an activity they couldn’t do in the end.

Anyway, over to packing for the Summer holidays to come sooner than later. Here are some nude sandals nabbed in the January NAP sale:

KJACQUESSANDALSK Jacques thong gladiators. MUSAFLIPFLOPMusa gold flip flops, my only pair. Before I get to what I’m packing, I have to show you these Gap pants. GAPLINENTROUSERS2I’m so excited about these black linen pants! If you haven’t already heard, they’re here with 30% off full priced items until 1st June with SUNNYDAY code.I spied them first on blogger Shini here and had to try them out myself. They’re so comfy I want to wear them to travel! The rest of the outfit I’m still deciding on. They are a little low in the rise but the tailored cut seems to balance out – they’re washable too. I got my normal size in the Petitie fit and they are a touch loose however, since it’s a cotton/linen mix material with no built in stretch, I’m not going to size down. They’re smart enough for the office as well! I’m waiting for other colours to arrive to compare and decide which to keep but don’t be surprised if I keep them all!TRAVEL2014xAnd this is pretty much everything for a month long stay. We stay in our own place so a little home from home with no need to worry about washing facilities. Even so, I always over pack. This year is different because this is the least amount. Ever! There’s just the white Gap dress here that’s not shown as it’s in the laundry, a pair of blush linen pants by Zara because it’s still being hemmed and my travel outfit.

  • 5 dresses (one for beach/house, white, LBD, black lace, print jersey)
  • 8 tops (3 shirts, 3 tops, 2 tees)
  • 5 bottoms (1 skirt, 4 trousers)
  • 1 sequin bolero
  • 1 ivory cardigan
  • 6 pairs of shoes (I know!)
  • 4 bags (red Bolide will be my travel bag, 2 clutches, one handbag)

Plus toiletries, various jewels, a pashmina, swim costumes and maybe a 90cm scarf. I’ll be updating this post just as soon as I get everything else organised.

Thanks for reading!

 

 

9 thoughts on “Packing in Mind + Gap 30% Off Alert

  1. Jane

    Wow, that’s great for a month’s stay. I typically over pack as well, but I hate to make unplanned clothing purchases, to pick something out just because I have to, so it works for me most of the time. BTW, nice gladiator sandals. Have a good weekend!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Jane! So far I’ve never had to go out and buy something unplanned – that would annoy me so much! But I know I can and should edit some more. Each year is a little different even though we’re going to the same place.

      Reply
  2. Lady Light Travel

    Yes, you could probably pack less if you chose. You could leave behind a couple of pants, a couple of dresses, less shoes, and less purses.
    The key to packing less is to create a capsule wardrobe with pieces that mix / match / layer for multiple looks. That will then limit the amount of shoes. I take one dressy pair and one serious walking pair. I change out accessories and layer to get multiple outfits. A simple knit dress will take you a long way.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much for taking the time to drop by and sharing your tips! It’s great you share so many packing tips on your blog.

      I’m going to a very hot place which has the other extreme of sometimes overactive air/con which I don’t like much at all. Most days I find myself changing twice or 3 times occasionally plus I like variety and that’s why I need dress as well as separates.

      Sadly laying doesn’t really work in this climate, I find it most comfortable to have short sleeves or sleeveless with a very light cotton cardigan at most. I wear scarves a lot normally but they’re too warm and fussy to use successfully.

      Therefore I depend on my accessories of jewels, bags and shoes (I prefer to change these often in a hot climate especially since I’m in a variety of places such as beach, city, parks etc..). I found my smaller bags work best since I rarely carry much at home and even less on holiday.

      I love knitted dresses – I wear them a lot! 4 out of the 5 are knits so I can leave the 5th one out but I may not be able to leave any of the shoes and purses! 🙂

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      I’m not going away until next month and I carry my own case lol! I have to accept I’m never going to be one of those making 12 items of clothing including accessories last a month but there’s still lots of room to improve – don’t give up on me yet 🙂

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Travel: Simply Navy and White | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

