Closet Basics: Cream and Navy

SLKBLSENAVY2I’m subtitling this post,When I Realise the Need for a Casual Navy Bag‘. Yes, I do like black with navy but for a lovely Spring day last week, black seems a tad heavy. I was having a second meeting – the first time I always err on the cautious side and go formal – so something a little more relaxed felt more comfortable and appropriate this time – that’s why it was a no to my navy Kelly 32.

This type of look fits in with the term ‘Business Casual’ and I’m linking to Une Femme d’Un Certain Âge’s post on hers. Mine consists of cream silk georgette Jaeger blouse (it has rows of ruffles on the shoulders), Zara navy pants, Banana Republic beige cardigan jacket, vintage Céline navy belt (this is such a well used treasure, I couldn’t do without it!), Via Spiga white leather slippers and vintage Céline hobo bag in black leather. SLKBLSENAVYThe grandad collar was a nice unfussy change for me and you can’t beat the simple luxury of silk. This is a failsafe combination for me. The flats are a little more dressy than plain ballerinas and are comfortable enough for tours and moving around which I knew I would be doing – and another reason why it was a no to the navy Kelly since I hand carry it as a tote.SLKBSENAVY3Well I can share with you that I may have found a casual navy bag – thanks for reading!

11 thoughts on “Closet Basics: Cream and Navy

  1. une femme

    You’ve hit such a nice balance here: casual but polished! I love that type of blouse collar too…very easy with a variety of jacket styles. Another thought on the bag, how about taupe? I’ve found it’s a great neutral for spring/summer. Thanks for the link!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      You’re welcome! Thank you very much for your input. The collar is a detail I overlooked in the past when I hadn’t learnt the importance of such things. I have lots of light coloured bags already and it was a dark colour casual that I need to also work for other seasons.

      Reply
  2. Stella A

    I really love the way you are embracing your natural hair color. It compliments your outfits perfectly.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you very much for your visit and compliment Stella! You know, I have to confess that I’ve never coloured or bleached my hair so when the greys/whites became prominent, I wasn’t comfortable starting to cover it all 🙂 And of course if you do start then you need to continue…In the end I decided to leave it to Nature and concentrate on keeping my hair healthy – which I’m certainly not achieving right now but hope to remedy soon!

      Reply
      1. Stella A

        From someone who is finally growing out her dyed hair, good for you. Recovering from years of dye is a long and frustrating road. Hair color, especially when it clashes with your skin, can really throw off the entire outfit. Nature really does know best. Yours is definitely working!

      2. silkpathdiary Post author

        Thank you again Stella! I have always wanted to be able to change my hair colour however subtly but was always too afraid because it would still result in a big overall impact. All the best with your hair!

  3. happyface313

    🙂 Wonderful classic style, as always!
    Your belt and your hobo-bag are (almost) every women’s dream!
    Thanks for sharing and have a very good evening 🙂

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you very much! I’ve rediscovered the shoulder style in a big way and as 2 of my shoulder bags need replacing, some space was created for new adventures 🙂 🙂

      Reply
  4. Pingback: ‘Trim’ | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

