Summer Stripes

STRIPES2Woo hoo the sun has come out for days on the trot! I mean we have serious warm weather – you can tell because my toes are out again 🙂 STRIPESIn context, some people are practically naked in public or so it seems judging by the school run attire of the other parents 🙂 I wonder if it’s a unique phenomenon here. I did wear a sleeveless striped dress by Warehouse the day before but it was a mistake because the material is much too thin – only appropriate for beach wear really. There was a fairly strong breeze and the whole dress clung far too much for comfort. STRIPES3This is recent by H&M and I had to snap it up because of the long sleeves and pockets. The only factor I wasn’t sure about was the low waist drawstring. Of course it’s meant to draw in more alas not on me. On that level anyway but I think it’s ok. It’s comfortable, not too thin and very practical for my needs. Sandals are Sam Edelman from last year.

Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “Summer Stripes

  1. Sue

    I’ve tried that on. If it’s a little low – you could tighten the drawstring a little but it will raise the length. However, I have a tendency to leave them “lowish” so nothing hugs my food baby 🙂

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks very much GK! Sleeves and pockets = more material = more sewing = more cost = less profit so they’ve been trying to sell us sleeveless things for as long as they can get away with it at the same price!

      Reply
  2. jangrahammcmillen

    I do not get by here often enough. Very polished and summery you! I love stripes, Breton or otherwise, an unreasonable amount. It’s hard here with the high temps and humidity to wear some of the sturdier fabrics, and sheers do feel better. I do agree they need a bit of under-cover to keep away the cling on most of us!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Jan! I’m so behind with visiting yours and everyone’s else’s too because of being so busy but I’ll be there. I have a horror of Summer wear looking too casual and more fit for the beach rather than town.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

