Better Late Than Never: Printed Pants

Oh I’ve admired this trend from afar for at least a couple of years – an age in fashion terms! In fact it’s no longer a *trend* 🙂 But I never found a print in the colours and scale I like until I saw these by French Connection from this post.

FCPANTSI was very surprised since it’s French Connection where I hadn’t shopped for decades and that the print turned out to be an exotic, Oriental type often found on sarongs so it felt instantly familiar and right. I’m very careful with prints in general since the scale and colours most often don’t work for me. Casual version with flats and tee also below. FCPANTS3I wore this outfit for drinks at a Belgian bar on the first evening of my holiday. I felt pretty drained however, with the aid of the Chanel cover up and powder, managed to fake being awake for another couple of hours. With a navy Theory silk shirt also here, Sam Edelman heels also here, Hermès black CDC, jade jewels and a vintage Hermès navy clutch. FCPANTS2The vintage H clutch – where do I start – it’s navy and from 1979 – this is a wonderful year I believe for beautiful leather if my Kelly from the same year is anything to go by. However, the leather had been allowed to dry out badly and unevenly resulting in a lot of time conditioning it to prevent further deterioration. I feel it’s exactly the right size for me and couldn’t be happier!

FCPANTSCASUAL Blurry action shot with navy Gap viscose tee, Hermès Rugby bag and K Jacques flats in nude.KJACQUES2014Thanks for reading!

14 thoughts on “Better Late Than Never: Printed Pants

  1. Sandy

    Love the shoes, like you I am very short so look with interest at what you are wearing, thanks for a great blog

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much for taking the time to visit and compliment! It’s less of a challenge to find things I like in consideration of being short and I think it’s because I don’t think about it much the older I get.

      Reply
  2. AestheticAlterations (@AestheticAlt)

    So much fun, silkpathdiary! These pants really are perfect on you, and they look great both casual and more dressed up. The color is particularly enchanting . . . And don’t get me started on those bags. 😉 I’ve experienced that dried out box, and it does take effort to save. It always astonishes me that people allow such heritage pieces to deteriorate.

    I hope you’re continuing to have fun on your vacation!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much AA! You’re right I am having fun and look forward to more pieces like this to add to my closet – they’re definitely what’s needed 🙂 It’s a shame that I haven’t seen any more Rugbys because they are such a practical and totally underrated H style. You’re the only other person I know who has one … or have you since had her adopted? The clutch is so special to me now that I’ve condtioned her – I hope it’s enough. I think in this case, she was just forgotten after being well used.
      You must be preparing for your travels! Thank you for your travel wishes and I hope yours go to plan.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Vintage H Clutch | Silk Path Diary

  4. Pingback: Cashmere and Silk | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

