Travel: Ode to White Part I

ALLWHITECLOSEI’m delighted to link to the fantastic blogs of Jill at Everything Just So and Adrienne’s at The Rich Life On a Budget for their ‘How I Wear My …’ series.  This month it’s White so I couldn’t miss it!ALLWHITE2Continuing my challenge to find an easier, looser silhouette that works for my frame. I found this linen kimono top on the Zara website last year in the sales and it definitely looked the odd one out among everything else. I took the chance and just love it! In the past I’d always avoided styles like this but happily the proportions – that’s what really matters here – work and the pure linen is pretty good quality – Zara sometimes surprises like this! ALLWHITEI had to include my mother here since she unwittingly strayed into the photo. Her uniform is based entirely on black (and grey at my insistance) pants and various tops like this silk blouse. It really works for her and makes for very quick packing for her almost constant travel. Her Chanel single flap jumbo in black lambskin and silver tone hardware always makes her whole look chic without being blingy. She wears good – not at all flashy – real jewels and that’s it.
As for me, I’m delighted the linen/cotton Gap 1969 pants work so well with the top – each bought months apart without even realising the potential match. Marni sandals from last year, Hermès Rugby bag and horn necklace – this is the perfect thing to wear in the Summer. I’m finding it an indispensible alternative to gold and silver and that it compliments whites so well. The long style definitely helps my proportions so a win win in every way 🙂

Part II on Friday 🙂

Thanks for reading!

13 thoughts on “Travel: Ode to White Part I

  1. Gam Kau

    Would love to see the necklace in more detail, what a nice idea to use horn instead of metal jewellery. I am much too messy a person to even consider white clothing, but I love the way it looks and you really look wonderful in this outfit. And so does your mother! Love that she has a uniform. 🙂

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you! I used to have a tortoishell cuff that I wore constantly until I cracked it as a child and I suppose it was always in the back of my mind all that time. I’m reasonably careful with all my clothes but already had a coffee accident on the trousers that thankfully washed out.

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you! It was such a fluke to find that top and as I said above, I’d love to copy it. I used to wear all white a lot when I was younger even though I was living smokey old London. I’m rediscovering a lot of things again 🙂 xx

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Step Back In Time? | Silk Path Diary

  3. Pingback: Travel: Monochrome | Silk Path Diary

  4. Pingback: Cheesecake and Rugby | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

