Purple Patch

PURPLESI found some very old photos recently that my mother discovered in some corner of her house during one of her infrequent clearing up sessions (these usually turn up yet more books my father loves to hoard). Looking through these photos, I realised just how little – in fact not at all – my tastes have changed over time. Only the interpretation had! And some things were forgotten or completely suppressed. One of the latter is my love for the colour purple and its various shades. When I was a kid, the Caran D’ache pencils immediately used up were the purple and magenta ones. I didn’t follow through in my teen years except for an unfortunate experiment with purple eyeshadow that made me look like I’d been beaten up. It wasn’t until some 30 years later that I started to crave more purple in my life!PURPLES3Variations of a simple combination this Winter: long dark grey Mango cardi, Old England cashmere scarf, Gap bf cords, H belt and vintage Kelly, Mango pink jumper and Toggi Chelsea boots that were preowned from *ebay over 3 years ago and still going strong. I gave them an old fashioned Kiwi shoe polish treat the other day and they now glow. PURPLESI’m going to have to put this H&M Men khaki cotton parka/military coat away, it’s unlined so will hibernate the Winter away. PURPLES2The cords were supposed to be navy but really are a deep amethyst hue I adore. The pink jumper is a nice under layering piece that will carry into the Spring. I had to size up again because this year all their jumpers are tiny – seriously – I ordered an XS Aran jumper and cardigan and they are a nice loose fit on my 9 year old Sweetie girl who has never been big.PENDANTI had to share this gorgeous pendant although it’s not mine, I bought it for my Tween who is purple mad, for her next birthday. She loved pink before she could even say the word then at around 8 years old announced she’d ‘grown up’ and now loves purple. It’s been that way eversince. She also loves pebbles and stones – precious as well as the kind one finds on beaches. KNOBEven the humble desk drawer knob in her room got the purple sparkle treatment!

Thanks for reading!

11 thoughts on “Purple Patch

  1. GamKau

    Such a beautiful pendant you’ve found for your tween – she’ll love it!

    It’s interesting how our tastes really don’t change all that much, they sort of become refined, but ultimately I think often we stay attracted to the same things through time.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you very much! Yes, it becomes part of our character which doesn’t change. I’m looking out for something similar for my littlest girl otherwise there’ll be mega pouting and huge frowns 🙂

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      A fellow purple lover – thank you very much Vix! I want to give it to her for xmas but will make myself wait for her birthday, I think it will be more special then.

      Reply
  2. happyface313

    🙂 This sounds so familiar! When I had started school I’d ask for my mom if I was allowed to take some pennies from my allowance to buy two extra crayons – one in purple and and one in a sunny yellow – those were the two crayons I used day in and day out.
    Til this day I love purple – in writing, in clothes, bags and accessories.
    Tell your daughter “welcome to the club!”, please xo 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Closet Additions: Coat, Tote and Tunic | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

