Ode to Clarks Shoemaker

Clarks have been making shoes since 1825 and my family have been customers for several decades. My parents bought their footwear exclusively from them – you know those men’s wide strap sandals – yep, my father’s favourite style. For me, it was a ritual to start every school term with getting my feet measured followed by new shoes. I still have a polaroid they took in store of us when my youngest who was a very early walker got her first pair of shoes. My Boy has the widest feet and most everything in other shoe shops are simply too narrow for him except the canvas skater styles. If I can find leather versions for him, I know he’d happily wear them forever. My Tween is just coming to the tricky stage of wanting more fashionable styles yet with the same comfort she’s been used to all her life. We’ll have to see how that pans out.–VELVETBOWSMy girls were not happy at all their sizes in this style sold out already. It’s purple leather with a purple velvet bow. I wasn’t expecting such lusciousness this side of Christmas! They even came wrapped up so nicely with an extra layer of tissue to protect the bows. I’d better start stalking the shops and online for fear of a mutiny! VELVETBOWS3If they look vaguely familiar, it’s because I have the metallic version from a few years ago that are still going strong. VELVETBOWS2I’ve been wanting another pair because they are so comfortable. TRAINERS2 And these leather trainers are great too. Tones in perfectly with navy, greys and blues.TRAINERSThanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “Ode to Clarks Shoemaker

    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      I know exactly what you mean Vix! Your feet are beautiful and slim but we’re a family of ducks, our feet are that wide except my youngest who has narrow feet or perhaps ‘normal’ width so not sure where she came from 🙂 The women’s range is useless for me, I only find treasures in the kid’s range every now and then. xxx

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Indeed! I was pre-Start Rite. My fav pair as a 10 year were some wedge open toe sandals with the woven sole, available only in brown or navy leather and the ‘Jesus’ sandals. I wish they would bring back those styles again.

      Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      I’m so glad you’re a fan too! The purple flats went up to size 5.5 so no reason why women can’t benefit if they fit them. It’s one of their classic styles they bring out every season in different colours so hope they continue. Have to say most of the kids’ shoes are even better quality than the adults.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

