Boxing Brocade

BROCADECLOSE Delighted to be linking to Patti’s Not Dead Yet Style for a Post-Holiday Edition of Visible Monday

I had a rethink about my Boxing Day outfit after the failure of the previous day (will show you later). The gathering was from late afternoon to early evening so I was aiming for a dressy daytime look that was also comfy. Enter the Red Valentino brocade skirt also here, Theory ivory silk shirt here, here and here, Mango cashmere cardigan, Via Spiga bronze Mary Janes, vintage croco clutch, Hermès pink croco CDC and pearls.BOXINGBROCADEIt was just pure luck I had the correct shade of tights in the correct denier. I stopped wearing pearls regularly a few years ago but will start again. I have such a mix of jewels that I seem to go through them in phases. The faux pearl necklace is vintage, bought in the early 90’s from a branch of John Lewis somewhere in South London and they are still good as new. My earrings are real pearls, a gift from several years ago and have been repaired once already when the pearl fell off its gold mount – that’s how much they were worn!BOXINGBROCADEZThe vintage croco clutch was an *bay find a couple of years ago and such a perfect size. I don’t often get to wear such lady like shoes and these were also a lucky *bay find from a long while back. I have another pair of similar shoes also by Via Spiga but they are definitely gold which would not have worked (not that I could find them anyway to confirm!).BOXINGBROCADEYAn outfit that I felt very comfortable in and was appropriate to the occasion. My frail MIL remarked on how much she liked my skirt so I take that as a big compliment because not much interests her these days … There are still a couple more special occasions to think of so I’m grateful and making the most of it!

Thanks for reading!

24 thoughts on “Boxing Brocade

  1. Sharron Granger

    You look lovely and the skirt is indeed gorgeous x I am having problems commenting as my laptop is broken and can’t log into wordpress on other peoples laptops! So annoying! Hope you had a lovely xmas xx

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks very much! I’ll be wearing the jackets soon, one is cream and another black more for evening (hence rarely the chance to wear). I went through a phase of not wearing jackets at all and only returning to them this year.

      Reply
  2. Jan Graham-McMillen

    You certainly hit the mark, and in your own inimitable style! Smart MIL …. frail or not, nothing wrong with her taste! Very pretty, every piece. And you know how I love to see you in heels!
    Happy New Year! I hope you and your family enjoy a wonderful 2015

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks so much Jan! You’re such a wonderful support and inspiration! My MIL had an amazing wardrobe in her day but no idea where everything went – lost things every time she moved probably.
      Happy New Year to you and Dan – wishing all good things, health and prosperity for 2015.

      Reply
  3. Blighty

    You look lovely, a really beautiful outfit, love the colour of the cardigan with the brocade skirt and the shirt and the pearls, very relaxed yet sophisticated. You have inspired me to wear pearls again too!

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thanks very much! I’ve always loved the relaxed yet dressy look and finally chanced upon the right combination for myself – better late than never 🙂 Oh yes, do bring out your pearls please!

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Cashmere and Silk | Silk Path Diary

  5. Pingback: Packing: Short Breaks Part 2 | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

