Tweed and Suede

TWEEDWe seem to be sheltered from the worst of the snow and freezing temperatures but did enjoy a brief little flutter which quickly turned to hail then very ordinary rain. I hope you’re safe and warm!TWEEDSUEDETime for the Jaeger vintage tweed skirt also here, Gap men cashmere jumper, Hermès Coup de Fouet scarf also here, Lanvin suede knee boots also here and the Céline bowling bag with canvas Evelyne strap. TWEEDSUEDE2Topped off by the vintage Eastex coat. I love wearing skirts and knee boots in Winter. The thick tights and wool skirt combination is warmer than trousers for me. I prefer to have no gaps between the hem and top of the boots, I think it looks much neater for my short legs. And the V neck on men’s jumpers tend to be higher so it’s cosy warm with a scarf tucked in. This particular colour way in the Coup de Fouet is magical for me, toning and complimenting most everything I wear. TWEEDSUEDE3I have a lot of vintage Jaeger from over the years, some found in charity shops and others on *bay. These pieces have stood the test of time due to their classic style and quality of material and construction. This skirt was much longer and the lining had been allowed to wear out but it was well worth fixing. I especially love the detail of the perfectly matched patch pockets. For me, buying vintage is not for its own sake for a retro look but to work with my normal everyday wear.

Thanks for reading!

13 thoughts on “Tweed and Suede

  1. Blighty

    That is such a cute outfit and the way you have put the colours together is great. The grey of your boots matches so well with the grey in the skirt, and the two tone grey coat is lovely. Very clever, as if accessorised differently that skirt could look a bit too bright and checky – I would have gone for the more obvious orange and brown and ended up looking very 70s!!! So Mrs SP you have given us a masterclass in how colours can keep a piece modern and classic! right I’m off now to look for something orange and brown😜

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Too kind – thank you so much! I see now that wearing black or even navy with it would be too high contrast and I don’t know why I didn’t think of these suede boots and coat before. The great thing asbout tweed is that there is depth to the colours and I’m really pleased how the browny and greeny greys combined. I can only wear brown in very small doses so just happy to get away with it this time 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jan Graham-McMillen

    Just goes to show that vintage classics never lose their cool. That’s proof positive from you, and that’s just one of the things I’ve learned from your blog. Lovely and cozy, although when you wear this out in public, you risk total strangers wanting to reach out and touch your wonderful textures! Watch out!

    Reply
  3. Blighty

    Hi there hope you don’t mind, I mentioned you today in my latest blog post and included a link to your blog and a photo. Let me know if you have any concerns. Bx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

