Mid Life

COLLARLESS4 Linking to Patti’s Not Dead Yet Style for Visible Monday #148

A morning of appointments and running errands in the cold – not a problem in my wool and cashmere outfit. Layering is the key with each layer not too thick. Vince wool collarless coat also here and here, The Cashmere Company lilac jumper also here, J Crew Café wool trousers also here, Old England cashmere scarf, Céline bronze bowling bag and Toggi Chelsea boots.COLLARLESS2One of my appointments was to my surgery. I don’t often visit the GP for myself, mostly for the children. This time I’d saved up a couple of issues of my own to raise with her also here and here. She took a look at her computer screen and said, ‘You’re 47,’ as neutrally as possible, (actually over 47-and-a-half dear Dr), before adding, ‘yes, you’re in that time frame – are you getting hot flushes?’ She had news for me – an invitation for a mammogram to look forward to! Oh joy, the prospect of being prodded and examined like during my baby years until every shred of dignity is stripped away, but this time there’s never going to be a little baby at the end, only synthetic hormones to nurse perhaps. And after spending years preventing the arrival of more children, my body’s saving me the trouble. Forever. Here’s another symptom to add to the mix – broodiness. This can only be explained as my body shuts down forever the opportunity for childbearing, the raw default program remains to reproduce = the broodiness. ‘Babies! Babies! Last chance! I find myself mourning the prolonged final death throes of fertility. Plus is my body also telling me that at my age, I should be cooing over grandchildren as consolation? At my age, my mother had 27 (moi), 17 and 15 (my brothers) year olds. I could have given her grandbabies then but in fact she had to wait another 8 years.COLLARLESS3I grew up with very positive old role models in my life and it would be great to actually celebrate mid life so do we endure discomfort and wait until it’s all over? Or ignore it all and just get on with it like my mother did – I could be too busy to notice, except I do want to know what’s going on with my body, it’s the only one I’ve got so I’m trying to look after it. If you see me next coatless outdoors cradling a little furry creature, you will be understanding won’t you? Sniff!

Thanks for reading!

15 thoughts on “Mid Life

  1. rukshanaafia

    I understand the mourning . I started late – one son at 40 ! – and then had an early menopause . OK it was my choice and maybe I would have found motherhood repeated too much for me . I’m not sure it wasn’t anyway ! But it’s different when Mother Nature ends your choices .

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much! I started pretty late too and I think it’s just the speed of life with young children that meant not having the time to process everything in my mind first.

      Reply
  2. Rita BA

    First, loving the hair, the outfit and thanks for the advice on layering! Second, I think it’s a good idea to want to know what’s going on and that all is good. Also to prepare. Maybe it will help you through it better 🙂

    Reply
  3. Blighty

    The more I see it, the more I love your grey coat, so classy. And I have already told you I love your Chelsea boots. I can really identify with your feelings about change/body clock, I have also had this kind of conversation with my GP (I am 51). I do find from my own experience and from anecdotes from friends that GPs can be very dismissive about enquiries about whether the menopause is upon us and also a certain “well you are at that age so what do you expect?” mentality. I think the best thing is to keep going, keep exercising and keep enjoying our lovely clothes and accessories!! I will not admit defeat! And I will not be told to sit in the corner and get old quietly! xxx

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much! I really appreciate you sharing your experiences. It’s something to make sure we get the information we need to make better choices about our own health. And no, I shalln’t be found the corner either! xxx

      Reply
  4. Patti

    Best to you during your early part of menopause. I found it got easier and easier as the months passed, and now it’s a breeze! Thanks for sharing with Visible Monday, you look great.

    Reply
  5. trinagrandinetti

    Oh I do love this grey coat, it just looks so warm, and comfy. Love the way you added the pop of color with your scarf.
    As for mid-life, just know your not alone. Many of us have gone through this phase of life, and as Patti said, it gets easier. I even made it through without any sort of drugs or medication, yes, lots and lots and lots of hot flashes but I just turned on a fan and drank lots more water. Good luck, my dear.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you so much! Really appreciate your tips and assurance that it will improve. I don’t want to take medication other than natural ones if possible so we’ll see how it goes.

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Collarless | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

