Red and Navy

RED15I love a few colours but never knew how to wear them when I was young. Among them a colour I loved but was actually afraid to wear even if I knew how to and that was red:  powerful, provocative, signifying life and all things lively to me. RED15BThe Hermès Bolide in box leather in the appropriately named Rouge Vif was my first red accessory aquired over 2 years ago also here and here. My first red clothing item is a red dress a few years ago and I’ve yet to wear it but I will …. if it’s the last thing I do 🙂 The second red accessory is the Hermès cashmere/silk shawl from a few months ago, also here and here. I didn’t think of the two together at the time and this is the first pairing against a secure, tried and tested backdrop of navy.RED15D Gap Men cashmere jumper, Paule Ka wool mix boucle skirt and Sergio Rossi flat stretch boots at the top, pull on heels above for a slightly dressier version. The skirt is part of the update following a longer length and easier to wear style that suit me better.RED15EPretty windy again but bright so no complaints from me – it felt positively Spring like! To avoid the dragged-through-a-hedge-backwards look, I like to keep my hair tucked into scarves on days like these. Maybe I should put weights in my skirt hem too 🙂

Thanks for reading!

13 thoughts on “Red and Navy

  1. rukshanaafia

    Navy & red is an excellent combination ! And I am intrigued by the unworn red dress ….. I hope we all see it soon .

    Reply
  2. Blighty

    OOh that lovely red bag! Delicious! And you must show us your red dress. I have a couple of red dresses, I wore one at Christmas, very cheery and festive. Red will suit you. Weights in hem is very HRH like. Next you will be getting corgis.😀

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you! Lol well at least I don’t have paparazzi lenses pointing at me but a Marilyn Monroe moment at the school gate would mortify my Sweetie girl who would LOVE a corgi.

      Reply
  3. amidprivilege

    Wonderful outfit, and looks really good on you. So interesting the way vivid colors make your features stand out, highlighting you face, but make other people’s fade away.

    Reply
    1. silkpathdiary Post author

      Thank you! I’m most flattered by your kind compliment and it’s got me thinking about the role of proper colours in my closet since I’ve been working on wearing more recently.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Cashmeres to Silk and Bouclé | Silk Path Diary

  5. Pingback: Inspiration | Silk Path Diary

  6. Pingback: Closet Audit : Shopping List A/W 2015-6 | Silk Path Diary

Leave a Reply

